Are the names of your characters in your novels important?

                            The names of my characters are very important, to me. I’ll picture their mannerisms and body type. Usually I’ll start writing a scene, and when the character walks in, their name just pops into my head and seems to fit them perfectly.

            And it seems to me that certain names go with certain personalities. I’d never call a large, burly soldier type, Nevil. I keep that for my more sophisticated character.

            An example comes from my short story ‘Shelton in Love’ http://www.breathlesspress.com/erotic/

 

            Nevil finished with the tie and stepped back, looking Shelton up and down. “Definitely summer, though I’d wear a coat like that all year round. Almost any color of slacks would go with it.”

            “Or socks,” Shelton muttered, a reminder to himself as Nevil ran his fingers through his hair, sending sparks of desire through his body as the man mussed his curls.

            Nevil tilted his head to take in the overall affect. A lazy smile spread on his face while a warm gleam entered his fantastic eyes. “Delicious.” His gaze lingered on Shelton’s shoulders, before sliding down to his hips.

             Nevil is the perfect name for my delicious playboy. I just can’t picture him as a Bob and Hank or Fred.

            On that same note, the title of a story can be just as important, and usually comes to me just as easily. I’ve heard that a publishing house will even change the title of a story, if they think they can market the new title better.

               I always like to have a title that will catch people’s attention, and put the story into its genre. I don’t think my love story would do as well entitled: “Shelton takes a hike”. Though I might use that title if Shelton needs a break from his mercurial roommate.

About diannehartsock

Author of paranormal/suspense, fantasy/adventure, m/m romance and anything else that comes to mind. Oh, and a floral designer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

