Musing Monday

Musing Mondays (Sept.12)

Posted by MizB

 This week’s musing asks…

What is the one (or maybe two) qualities a book must have for you to pass it along to your best friend as a “must-read”?

A really good plot is a must, but more than that, there has to be that one character that I love so much that I have to pass him along.

Lately, it’s been the fantasy and scifi stories of C.J. Cherryh. In every one of her books, there’s a man or woman who, though flawed in very human ways, is still a good, true, loving, vulnerable, courageous, beautiful, strong person.

And it’s the flawed character I always fall in love with, the one who rises above his weaknesses and becomes the hero at the end, even if it’s just a minor victory in the big scheme.

A good supporting caste makes the book that much better and I’d be more likely to pass it on to friends. I like the understanding best friend and supporting lover and funny side-kick. I like the strong protecter and the one who needs the hero’s help. I like to know my hero has people to take care of him/her after I put the book down for the last time.

What about you? What makes you pass on a book?

You can find more answers here.

About diannehartsock

Author of paranormal/suspense, fantasy/adventure, m/m romance and anything else that comes to mind. Oh, and a floral designer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Musing Monday

  1. New follower here!

    I, too, always end up falling for and rooting for the flawed character. A relatable and realistic character must be flawed.

    Thanks for stopping by my blog.

  2. Melissa W. says:

    Part of it is that you should also know the reader you are recommending the book to; not every book is meant for every reader.

  3. Cathy says:

    Thanks for stopping by, and you said it way better than I did, but yes a def good character is a must.

  4. Kate says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! So true about flawed people becoming more than themselves…gives us mortals hope!

  5. yvonne473 says:

    Great answer – characters are always important!

  6. Hello! Thanks for visiting my blog!

    Nice Monday Musing!

Leave a Reply

