Brothers on a Hotel Bed

The most curious thing happened at the store today.  A couple came in, early eightees, and stopped to admire the flowers. I greeted them in my usual (for the most part) friendly way. The husband beamed at me and asked how my day was going. The wife gave me the cool long-suffering nod of a woman tied to a flirtatious man.

I laughed inwardly, wanting to assure her that, though he made me smile, the attraction ended there.

But then I thought how sad it would be if she just didn’t care anymore. Have you heard the song ‘Brothers on a Hotel Bed’ by Death Cab? It talks about a man growing older, ‘But now he lives inside someone he does not recognize when he catches his reflection on accident’.

He feels young inside, but when he climbs in bed at night he realizes his wife no longer sees him as a lover ‘Cause now we say goodnight from our own separate sides like brothers on a hotel bed’.  His loneliness and longing breaks my heart.

I’m going to make a conscious effort from this point on to do the little things that keep the romance and joy alive in a marriage. I dont want to lose the closeness and friendship I have with my sweet husband.

About diannehartsock

Author of paranormal/suspense, fantasy/adventure, m/m romance and anything else that comes to mind. Oh, and a floral designer.
This entry was posted in life, ramblings. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Brothers on a Hotel Bed

  1. He’s a good man, Momma.

  2. Yes he is, isn’t he. 🙂

  3. Doug says:

    Such a great/sad song.
    Keep love alive!

  4. I mean to, and have fun doing it. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

