Ramblings from a not so restless Bookworm

A customer asked me an interesting question at work today. We were discussing books, my usual topic, and she asked if I was a restless reader.

I’m afraid I stared at her blankly, not sure what she meant.

“You’ve just mentioned the five books you read last week and the three you’re reading now,” she pointed out.

You know, I never really gave it much thought before. I do have a tendency to read more than one book at a time. This week I’m reading Dean Koontz’s Frankenstein, the Dead Town. I’m finishing up a couple of paperback Harlequins. Also I’m reading Lee Brazil’s Loving Jacob and Em Woods’ Chasing Alex, two amazing authors I’ve only recently discovered. I love when an author I like has more than one book to offer!

Oh, and I’m also reading Christmas stories being posted on my favorite blogs.

So, does this make me seem restless, or heaven forbid, bored? Absolutely not! After thinking about it, I realize it’s because I never want a story to end. I won’t read a book unless I’m drawn instantly into the plot, more often than not becoming enamored of the characters. And though I often want to rush to their happily ever after, I slow down, read something else, just to prolong the pleasure and drama being played out in the pages.

Okay yes, I’m the old cliché of the nerdy bookworm. But damn I love a good story!

About diannehartsock

Author of paranormal/suspense, fantasy/adventure, m/m romance and anything else that comes to mind. Oh, and a floral designer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ramblings from a not so restless Bookworm

  1. This is so funny. I was trying to comment about something the other day on a site and tried to express that I was currently reading three different books. I then for some odd reason became embarrassed LOL and just decided not to leave a comment. I am so glad you put into words the way I feel about reading and reading more than one book at a time 🙂

    • Isn’t it the truth? I always get a funny look when I tell people all the books I’m reading. But sometimes I want something scary. Then later that day I’m in the mood for romance or scifi and fantasy… I never know what!

Leave a Reply

