The New Year’s Blog Hop!

Welcome to the New Year’s Blog Hop hosted by Romance With a Bite! Comment here to win any book in my Shelton series. Also! Comment at all the other sites to win their prizes and the Grand Prize as well!

Happy New Year!

I suppose this is the time where most people look back on years past and plan out their coming year. Honestly, I rarely do that. For me, it’s the day to eat delicious junk food and watch The Twilight Zone marathon.

But now that I’ve started, I’d like to tell you of one amazing New Year’s Eve I had, way back when I had just turned twenty.

He was breathtakingly beautiful! I had trouble breathing whenever he came into the office, let alone speak coherently. Black hair and blue eyes and a decadent smile. Plump, but in an adorable way.

The company’s New Year’s Eve party was at a swanky hotel in Anaheim, CA, that year. A group of us rented a Limo and after work we all met at a friend’s house to dress. I had bought a slinky silver dress to wear especially to gain his attention. He smiles at me at work, but I’d never gotten more than an occasional approving look from him. I meant to change that!

We drank champagne in the Limo, me doing my best to appear legal. It was an hour drive across town and by the time we arrived at the party, I no longer cared.

Jim was so delicious in his black suite and gaudy red tie! Yes, his name is James. I still get butterflies when I think of that first dance of ours. He couldn’t take his eyes off me! Of course, I was staring at him the whole time, but after another drink, I thought he smiled back.

He dumped his girlfriend for me anyway, and held me close in his arms and told me how beautiful I was… Just like Cinderella at the ball. Yes, I was a hopeless romantic even then.

I had a wonderful, magical time, and a wild three months dating him afterwards. But he was six years older than I and eventually left me for a girl over twenty-one. But all in all, it was an unforgettable New Year’s Eve and a midnight kiss that still burns my lips when I remember it.

The New Year Blog Hop!

Come visit us on Jan 4th! Over 60 authors and reviews are going to talk about their favorite New Year Memory! What does that mean for you? Well we are giving away gift cards, books, and other swag goodies throughout the day! Each author will chose their own winner – so that means over 50 winners! And you can win on multiple pages! Also, comment on each page for a chance to win the Grand Prize!

And the best thing? We have TWO Grand prizes. 

One being a Kindle Fire to a lucky winner! Our second grand prize is a $80 Amazon GC!

 

Shelton in Love

Breathless Press: http://www.breathlesspress.com/shelton-love 

Shelton is falling hard for his best friend and roommate, finding Nevil’s dark good looks and moments of gentleness almost impossible to resist. But Nevil is more interested in affairs of the body than the heart. As Shelton’s desire for the man grows, he wonders if he can change Nevil’s mind. But does he even want to? Nevil might not stay, once he learns Shelton’s secret, and then his loneliness would be complete.

Shelton’s Promise

Breathless Press: http://www.breathlesspress.com/sheltons-promise 

Shelton has a gift he’s eager to give to Nevil. At a party, Nevil flirts with one man after another, keeping Shelton on his toes. Then Percy, an ex, shows up to complicate things. Despite his best efforts, Shelton can’t find the right moment to give Nevil his gift. Will Nevil ever let Shelton get close to him, or will Shelton have to keep the gift in his pocket all evening?

Shelton’s Choice

Breathless Press: http://www.breathlesspress.com/sheltons-choice

After a year of bliss with Nevil, Shelton is offered the promotion he’s been working toward at the bank. Unfortunately the new position is in another state, and Nevil doesn’t want to move. As tension mounts between them, Shelton is given another challenge in the form of a besotted coworker. Torn between the pressures at work and at home, Shelton has to choose his future. That is, until Nevil takes the decision out of his hands.

 

About diannehartsock

Author of paranormal/suspense, fantasy/adventure, m/m romance and anything else that comes to mind. Oh, and a floral designer.
This entry was posted in book quotes, contests, life, ramblings and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

57 Responses to The New Year’s Blog Hop!

  1. eli yanti says:

    my new year memory is barbeque with family and see the firework in night sky 😉

    eli_y83@yahoo.com

  2. Lindsey E says:

    A very special memory to share. Having fun on the Hop.
    linze_e at hotmail.com

  3. Eva P. says:

    I love hearing stories like that, too bad it didn’t end like Cinderella huh? I have yet to receive a kiss on NYE from a special home, but there is stil time….sigh 🙂 My NYE is usually spent with family, we just sit around, watch tv, eat snacks, really good times anyway!

  4. Sherry S. says:

    Sounds like you had a great time. Most of my New Years are spent at home with my family or working.
    sstrode at scrtc dot com

  5. pippajay says:

    Awww, how romantic! 🙂
    pippajaygreen(at)gmail(dot)com

  6. Marie Dees says:

    I celebrated with a traditional British Hogmany this year! Sounds like you had a great time too!

  7. Anne says:

    Six years age difference means a lot at that age. Sounds like a great NY and three months though.

    acm05atjuno.com

  8. Bre Allison says:

    That was a great memory! I’m not big on the New Years. I’m just glad I get to spend it with my husband.

    charmed_sphere_mage69@hotmail.com

  9. Tracey D says:

    Sizzling kisses are the best! Thanks for the contest!

    booklover0226 at gmail dot com

  10. Miho Li says:

    What a lovely (and sizzling!) memory 🙂 Happy new year!

    mihoxli at gmail dot com

  11. Kathryn says:

    What a night to remember 🙂 I stay at home with my family. It’s one less thing I have to worry about with the new year. richnkathy718 (at) msn (dot) com

  12. Mine is when I was in the Navy and we had a huge party before we shipped out to Iraq
    teressaoliver at gmail dot com

  13. Yto says:

    nice memory ^^ i wish i had one of those too 😉
    thanks for the giveaway.
    witchvela at web dot de

  14. Danielle says:

    Romance with a bite just so happens to be my favorite type of romance!!

    Happy New Year
    Dprissypunk(at)gmail(dot)com

  15. jennifer says:

    Any new year spent with family or friends is the best. ones without resolutions are just cake.
    Jennifer
    wocaworld @ gmail.com

  16. bookattict says:

    Thanks for the giveaway and have a Happy New Year!

    elizabeth @ bookattict . com

  17. savannah miller says:

    Great new years eve memory! Happy new year
    brandon_savannah@yahoo.com

  18. JeanP says:

    Nice memory. All the best in 2012.

    skpetal at hotmail dot com

  19. Vojalyn says:

    Oh, that’s romantic, thanks for sharing it with us!
    mikki-mano@hotmail.com

  20. Cathy M says:

    My favorite New Years Eve will always be special since it was the night my hubby proposed. After 35 years together, so glad I said yes.

    caity_mack at yahoo dot com
    Happy New Year Dianne

  21. Marissa N. says:

    That was a lovely New Year’s memory. Typically nothing happens for me around New Years. Thanks for the opportunity!
    m.lanz28(at)ymail(dot)com

  22. June M. says:

    Good memory that lasted even if the relationship didn’t.
    My memories are rather boring, just hanging out with the family. This year, I spent NYE with my sister and 2 of her kids, watching a zombie marathon on TV. Kind-of goofy but fun. And it can be done in PJs!
    June
    manning_j2004 at yahoo dot com

  23. StacieD says:

    What a fun memory! You got the guy for a little while. My favorite NYE memory was my first one in Chicago. The fireworks downtown were gorgeous especially when they were reflected in Lake Michigan.

  24. Gena Robertson says:

    It’s no wonder you write romance…that was such a romantic memory =)

    Thank you so much for participating in this hop! I love finding new to me authors!

    Happy New Year!

  25. vampedchik says:

    Well my birthdays New Years eve so I could tell tons of stories from that! LOL But one of my most memorable would probably have to be last year just for how funny it was. My friend was 9months pregnant. Due any time and she decided that she wanted to play ‘Just Dance’ on my wii. So she seriously got into it. It was insane watching her dance with her big belly. I have it on video. Probably the funniest thing I’ve ever seen. 🙂 Thanks!
    -Amber
    goodblinknpark@yahoo.com

  26. snulfers says:

    What a wild story to have to share. Thanks!

  27. reading mind says:

    like all the memories! Thanks for sharing!

    aliasgirl at libero dot it

  28. Joanne B says:

    I don’t really have a favorite memory. I spend NYE with family every year and we have fun watching movies,eating and drinking.

    e.balinski(at)att(dot)net

  29. Maria D. says:

    Sounds like you had a good time! I don’t have any special New Year’s Eve memories.

    I am however having fun reading everyone else’s stories.

    ringpop2010 at gmail dot com

  30. Heather Cox says:

    thank you so much for being part of this giveaway!!!

    yankeedragon4 at gmail dotcom

  31. Shadow says:

    This new years was my favorite. My family stayed home and watched movies. We had tons of fun! We ate snacks and toasted the new year. It was great! Thank you for sharing! Happy new year!
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

  32. Missy says:

    That is a great Cinderella story of your own, even though it didn’t last. You obviously still have those great memories. Anyway, now you have the prince charming who was meant for you!!

    Happy New Year!

    mnjcarter@charter.net

  33. Gloria says:

    I like to be mellow for new years & stay home to play cards with the family. Thanks!

    geschumann at live dot com

  34. Meagan B says:

    My mom would make shirley temples and snacks for new years eve celebration- loved it!

    mconnolley(at)yahoo(dot)com

  35. CinnaMinion says:

    So mine starts off a little odd. I was working as a waitress and I ended up working a double shift from open to close without more than a two minute break periodically. I was pretty mad about that because I’d scheduled time off to be with my then boyfriend. Anyway so I worked all day and while the tips were great the people not so much, especially after about 9. So anyway we closed early that night and I got how around 11pm. I took a shower and climbed into bed and just as I was falling asleep my phone rings. I’m cussing up a storm and questioning the parentage of the person on the other end and it turns out it’s the boyfriend. He waits for my little rant to end and then before I can start up again blurts out “Will you marry me.” I’m so tired my brain doesn’t seem to understand him and I go “what?” so he politely repeats himself and then tells me to get my ass outside. I dropped my phone and ran out the front door to him standing there with two dozen of my favorite flowers on one knee 🙂 Best New Year’s EVER! We’ll have been married three years this may. I don’t know if we kissed in time to ring in the new year but it was still pretty epic.

    a_breen87@yahoo(dot)com

  36. Ljay Harris says:

    Fun with the fam and lots of eating!
    Ljay
    Toonsgirl1 @ yahoo.com

  37. Monica says:

    The romantic memories are some of the best. Enjoyed your post.
    Happy 2012.
    mcv111 at hotmail(dot)com

  38. Anne R says:

    My favorite NYE memory is the one I spend with my now husband. We went out with my best friend and her (then) husband. It was horrible. They fought the whole night but at one point during all that craziness he leaned over and told me that he loved me.
    Thanks for the great giveaway!

    areeths at new dot rr dot com

  39. Juliana says:

    Shooting champagne out of my nose the first time I accidentally tasted it when I was 10! Thanks for being part of the blog hop! Happy New Year!
    OceanAkers@aol.com

  40. My favorite New Year’s memory is when I was around 7 year’s old and my best friend and I stayed up through the New Year all the way up until around 4am. We were the happiest 7 year old’s ever! Our parents were too wasted to even notice! lol

    Ishanie.Sanchez@gmail.com

    http://thealteregotracy.blogspot.com

  41. elaing8 says:

    Thanks for sharing your memory
    elaing8(at)netscape(dot)nt

  42. Susan says:

    Spending New Years with family makes the best memories.

    suz2@cox.net

  43. Catherine Lee says:

    I do LOVE The Twilight Zone marathon. Every year I catch at least a few episodes.

    Cheers,
    catherinelee100[at]gmail[dot]com
    @capefearlibn

  44. jeanette8042 says:

    My favorite new years was when I had a fun and crazy party with friends last year, the champagne was literally flowing everywhere since one of my friends tried to make a champagne fountain but it turned into a river instead!

    lilazncutie1215[at]yahoo[dot]com

  45. latishajean says:

    Thanks for sharing 🙂 Thank you so much for taking part in this fun blog hop! Great giveaway and Happy New Year too year!
    Latisha D
    tishajean@ charter.net

  46. Andrea I says:

    Thanks for sharing. My husband watched some of the Twilight Zone marathon.

    ainfinger@comcastDOTnet

  47. SiNn says:

    awwww how sweet and sad all at once cinderella found herprince only to find out he wanst the right prince ims tillw ith my hero so i dunno how will end for me new yr is a time for reflection and understanding ty for the chance

    mortalsinn(AT)yahoo.com

  48. Nanners says:

    “Honestly, I rarely do that. For me, it’s the day to eat delicious junk food and watch The Twilight Zone marathon.” I did exactly that, except replace The Twilight Zone with Skyrim and the X-Files hahaha. Hope you and yours have a wonderful new year! n.dematos@gmail.com

  49. That was such a sweet story Dianne!

    Thanks for sharing your memory!

    thewildtwo @ sbcglobal (dot) net

  50. kimmyL says:

    I think my favorite new years eve memory was being together with friends and my children, watching the “ball fall” on TV and hugging and kissing at midnight.

    klmc_37@yahoo.com

  51. Deb Pelletier says:

    Thanks for the memory

  52. Mary Keith says:

    My best NYE – We had a party for our friends and family. We could see the high school fireworks from our backyard. We all had a great time being together. Almost all the food was gone and the drinks…well there weren’t any left..lol Those who needed to spend the night found a piece of floor and blankets and we had breakfast the next morning…some not so much LOL

    Great Blog Hop. Hope you will blog at KP sometime.

    Mary Keith
    mary@keithpublications.come
    http://www.keithpublications.com

  53. Pamela Jo says:

    What memories yall are bring back with this Hop.

    Pamela Jo
    pmjg(at)E-jama(dot)net

  54. wyndwhisper says:

    thank you for the chance at such a great giveaway.
    my favorite memory is the year my husband asked me to marry him.

    tammy ramey
    trvlagnt1t@yahoo.com

  55. Gayle Oreluk says:

    My family parties at home with lots of good food and we watch the ball drop in Times Square.

    Thank you for the wonderful contest.

    I hope you have a very prosperous New Year.

    orelukjp0 at gmail dot com

  56. BBL says:

    This year, I stayed at home and invited my friends. We made fun and at midnight, we sang Justin Bieber’s Baby, which was horrible, by the way 🙂
    Thanks for the chance! Happy new year to you!
    creature-in-night@hotmail.com

Leave a Reply

