‘First Love’ Blog Hop Day 4!

Happy Valentine’s Week!

 Having fun so far? So many lovely firsts, and today I’d like to tell you about one amazing ‘first dance’ I had, way back when I had just turned twenty.

He was breathtakingly beautiful! I had trouble breathing whenever he came into the office, let alone speak coherently. Black hair and blue eyes and a decadent smile. Plump, but in an adorable way.

The company’s New Year’s Eve party was at a swanky hotel in Anaheim, CA, that year. A group of us rented a Limo and after work we all met at a friend’s house to dress. I had bought a slinky silver dress to wear especially to gain his attention. He smiles at me at work, but I’d never gotten more than an occasional approving look from him. I meant to change that!

We drank champagne in the Limo, me doing my best to appear legal. It was an hour drive across town and by the time we arrived at the party, I no longer cared.

Jim was so delicious in his black suite and gaudy red tie! Yes, his name is James. I still get butterflies when I think of that first dance of ours. He couldn’t take his eyes off me! Of course, I was staring at him the whole time, but after another drink, I thought he smiled back.

He dumped his girlfriend for me anyway, and held me close in his arms and told me how beautiful I was… Just like Cinderella at the ball. Yes, I was a hopeless romantic even then.

I had a wonderful, magical time, and a wild three months dating him afterwards. But he was six years older than I and eventually left me for a girl over twenty-one. But all in all, it was an unforgettable dance and kiss that still burns my lips when I remember it.

 

Okay, my prize for the day! A PDF copy of ‘Shelton’s Promise’ for a commenter who tells me what their favorite dance song is. Mine is:
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DL7-CKirWZE&ob=av2e

 

‘With Love’ hop HERE!

 

First Love Blog Hop!

   

About diannehartsock

Author of paranormal/suspense, fantasy/adventure, m/m romance and anything else that comes to mind. Oh, and a floral designer.
This entry was posted in contests, ramblings, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to ‘First Love’ Blog Hop Day 4!

  1. Sarah Gilman says:

    *gasp* Dark hair and blue eyes– My favorite combination! Thanks for the great post!

  2. “Hard to Concentrate” by Red Hot Chili Peppers
    and
    “Your Hand in Mine” by Explosions in the Sky

  3. Hope you have a naughty Valentine’s Day.

  4. Dianne, you and I could be long-lost best friends. I remember when the New Radicals hit it big with that song – I think I was a freshmen in high school hahaha. It was a favorite at every school dance and at Friday night parties.

Leave a Reply

