Proudly Paranormal!

 Welcome to the Proudly Paranormal  Blog Hop!

-The prisoner lifted his head and Taden was caught in the gaze of the most beautiful eyes he’d ever seen, clear green with a starburst of gold at the pupils, amazing eyes that held him confused and thrilling. The look brushed against the lonely spot in his heart he kept deeply buried. Then the man blinked and Taden felt released, as if he’d been spellbound.                     

To me, the paranormal adds that spice of the unknown and thrill of danger to life. And really, who can resist those romantic as hell vampires, werewolves and shifters? Not me! In and out of a book, I like to think they roam the darker edges of the world.

But what if the paranormal aspect is far more subtle? What if the spell weaver looks like the beautiful, sensual man of your dreams, and his magic fulfills all your fantasies?

-Taden dropped his head on Nathaniel’s chest. “Give me a moment,” he whispered hoarsely, concentrating on control. He wanted their joining to be perfect. It was hard when Nathaniel continued to thread his hands through his hair. With a growl, Taden straddled him, pinning the wandering hands over his head. “Careful, or I can’t promise to be gentle.”

Nathaniel’s eyes were hooded and Taden watched, enchanted, as the tip of his pink tongue slid across pale lips. “Do anything you like,” Nathaniel invited.

How do you protect yourself from such a man? Would you even want to? Image a man who can slip into your mind and probe your dreams. Slide down your nerves. Should I touch you there? Would you like my tongue here? What tickles? Titillates? Arouses?

-Taden dropped his hand and took a quick step back, frustrated and confused. “Stay out of my head,” he said, his voice dangerously low.

“I did nothing to you,” Nathaniel swore and Taden almost believed the despair in his tones. His breath caught in his throat when Nathaniel took his hand again. Heat sped from his fingertips up his arm to his chest, spreading a blanket of warmth through his body. Fire licked to his groin as Nathaniel searched his face. Nathaniel’s breath touched his skin and the alluring scent of his body filled Taden with a mad desire.

An odd expression crossed Nathaniel’s face. “Do I know you, lord?” Their lips almost touched. A soft moan escaped Taden. It was too much! He tasted Nathaniel’s full lips with his tongue, their heady sweetness swamping all thoughts.

Taden’s enchanted. How can you resist a man who knows exactly how you need to be loved? He doesn’t hold out long!

But, even though Nathaniel’s a gentle man, what about the other side of the coin? What if this power that can bring such pleasure, is used by a cruel man, to cause pain?

-Corin pushed away from the wall, the glint of anger in his eyes. “Like it or not, lord, Nathaniel is unstable and dangerous.” His voice softened to a caress, “He killed a man. Did he tell you that? In a jealous rage, and fled across the sea from those who would restrain him. But he made the mistake of bringing Miranda with him. And that’s why I’m here.”

“Why, if Miranda prefers your cousin?”

Taden had the bitter satisfaction of seeing pain in Corin’s dark eyes.

“She doesn’t love him. And he needs to answer for his lover’s death.”

Taden studied Corin’s expression. He’d heard a trace of doubt in his arrogant voice. The man was lying. “They weren’t lovers. What are you holding back?”

He flinched in pain at the illusion of sharp needles piercing his skin. The false impression was gone instantly as Corin visible controlled his temper, but Taden knew he’d been near death at that moment.

“He loved you?” he asked carefully.                                            

As you can see, I’m fascinated by psychic phenomenon. The thought of telekinesis and mind reading, the power of the mind over matter, fills my world with wonder. What if it is true? What if there are people whose visions are real and dreams foretell the future? It’s this feeling of amazing possibility I try to capture in my writing.

Thanks for stopping by! For your patience, I’ll be giving away two PDF copies of ‘Nathaniel’ to commenters who tell me what their favorite paranormal story is. Winners will be picked at random on April 1st.

 Happy Hopping!

About diannehartsock

Author of paranormal/suspense, fantasy/adventure, m/m romance and anything else that comes to mind. Oh, and a floral designer.
This entry was posted in book quotes, contests, life, ramblings and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Proudly Paranormal!

  1. Elin Gregory says:

    Shaming admission – it’s a genre I’ve really neglected. I’ll be following the thread to look for recommendations. 🙂

  2. Ash Krafton says:

    I love reading about psychic phenomena…how can something like that be disproved? The fact that it can be real is very alluring. (Although I still like reading about vamps/weres despite never having met one…)

  3. Tracey D says:

    Hi, Dianne.

    I enjoyed your post and the snippets. Nathaniel has been added to my must have list!

    I really don’t have a favorite paranormal story. Maybe I’ll discover some new ones when I read what the other posters have listed.

    Thanks,
    booklover0226 at gmail dot com

  4. Adriana Ryan says:

    Ooh, Dianne, this is AWESOME! 🙂 I loved how you intertwined the snippets with what you think of the paranormal realm. Nathaniel is going on my queue. It comes out the 23rd, correct? 😀 Yay!!!

  5. Hi Adriana. Actually, Nathaniel’s already out! I’m loving this hop, by the way. 🙂

  6. Nathaniel sounds great, Dianne! I love the paranormal genre, as both an author and reader. I think it’s the possibility of anything happening that works for me. I remember reading about vampires as a teenager (long before Twilight) and being utterly intrigued. I guess I still am. 🙂 Good luck with the new book!

  7. I love all paranormal. As a writer it gives you such a huge playground to work with. Your imaginations is endless..

  8. Enjoyed your post. A little spicy for my work computer, so now it’s running hot now. Shhhh, don’t tell my work…

    I can never get enough of the paranormal. I agree, vamps, werewolves, shifters and the like are quite sexy. The idea that humans can be transformed into otherworldly creatures is exciting, and there is the danger element, which is hot.

    One of my favorite paranormal stories is Book 4 of the Sookie Stackhouse/True Blood series, Dead to the World. Shamelessly, I must admit it’s one of my favorites because we get to see “a lot” of Eric Northman, and I have the HOTS for that sexy Viking vampire. I loved how someone so seemingly bad is showed to have a softer side, and also a mighty fine backside…

    Another one of my favorites is Skin Game by Ava Gray. I loved the premise of how the heroine is able to borrow the skills of anyone she touches. She can shoot a mean game of pool with any pool shark, kick a bad guy’s butt… and her past relationship with a slimeball puts her on the radar for a hitman, who just happens to be sexy, of course. I read the arc, which I won in contest held by Carolyn Jewel (author of both paranormal and Regency romances) and it was amazing! Very smart and spicy.

    Thanks for your paranormal blog. I’ll be checking it out some more, for sure.

    Angela Robbins
    email: angela@angela-robbins.com
    web: http://www.angela-robbins.com/
    fb: https://www.facebook.com/Angela.Robbins.Author
    twitter: @Angela_Robbins_

  9. Great post! I’m also intrigued by psychic phenomenon and have used it in several of my stories. I look forward to checking out Nathaniel. Super excerpt. 🙂

  10. Ann Roberts says:

    There are so many really good paranormal writers and stories out there, some with outright mythical beings and others with humans who are just a little “more.” If I had to pick one, right now I guess I’d pick a fairly recent read for me, one I voted for a “best of” on Goodreads at the end of last year: A Thread of Deepest Black. I love shifters in general, and this one was really inventive!

    Ann
    Kyreadinggirl@yahoo.com

  11. Hi Ann. I’ve just started reading shifter books this past year. I’ll have to give this one a try! Thanks!

  12. Rosalie says:

    Great excerpt…sizzling… terrific post, weaving your thoughts through the extract. I loved Trials of a Lonely Specter. Now I will be adding Nathaniel to my reading list. Love the diversity paranormal offers. These blog hop posts are a wonderful way of exploring the genre.

  13. Alexandra Kane says:

    Nice post! I guess my favorite paranormal book would by Bittersweet by Marcia Colette. It had a bit of everything: telekenesis, an incubus, witches, and all sorts of paranormal beings. It’s a YA book , so no hanky panky, but the pacing is so good you don’t miss it at all.

    Best,
    Alexandra Kane

  14. A.H. Browne says:

    Such a great post! I’m so excited to be upcoming for mine. Do I have to pick a favorite book? I don’t need to win one, but I would have to Keri Arthur’s books. The Riley Jensen series. I can’t get enough of them, haha!

    Those are some really great images you’ve found there too. Can’t get enough of the paranormal genre. I’m so glad to be a part of it. 🙂

  15. Julianne says:

    This is so hard to pick just one. Ok, I picked two. The Vampire Queen series by Joey W. Hill and The Wolf Tales series by Kate Douglas. I really like vampires and shape shifters. 🙂
    luvfuzzzeeefaces at yahoo dot com

  16. Liv Rancourt says:

    My favorite paranormal story is usually whichever one I’m reading at the time. Right now it’s Doubletake by Rob Thurman (the 6th (?) in the Cal & Niko series). It’s pretty dark, but loads of fun. Thanks for the chance to get to know your work!

  17. Hi Liv. Dark but fun? Sound right up my alley! Thanks for coming by. 🙂

  18. michele says:

    You’ve done such a fantastic job here! Great excerpt and sharing, an absolute pleasure!

  19. My favorite paranormal story is Dark Lover by JR Ward (book 1 in her Black Dagger Brotherhood series). I love her take on vampires, and I love the relationship between Wrath and Beth.

    Thanks for the chance to win and for participating in the blog hop!

    Hillary
    hillacurr@gmail.com

  20. Angela Robbins and Julianne are my winners! Thanks so much everyone for playing!

Leave a Reply

