Hop Against Homophobia!

This hop is about spreading awareness of homophobia and to stand together as an m/m writer community against discrimination of what we write about.

I awoke in my lover’s arms. Sweet kiss deepening into passion. And as we joined I forgot if it was a man or woman I held. Only that our souls came together in the glorious celebration of life.   -Me

 

Loneliness Has No Boundaries

For the most part, the people in my community are a tolerant bunch. But I was in a shop the other day in one of the larger cities near where I live, when a package was delivered to the owner. As the man left, he stopped a minute to smile and chat with one of the employees, who was also male.

He hadn’t even left the store before the young man’s co-workers started to tease him, not because someone had flirted with him, but because a man had. I saw the delivery man’s face flush red and he hung his head as he left through the front door.

I saw him later that day, crossing the street with a package on his shoulder, a solitary figure, and my heart hurt for him all over again. He had been one human being reaching out to another, and had been ridiculed for it.

Please be careful with your words! They were teasing their friend in fun, at the expense of another person’s feelings. Isn’t there enough pain in the world without us adding to it?

Be the change you want to see in the world.  -Gandhi

Thank you so much for joining us in our stand against homophobia! I’d like to offer 3 PDF copies of my m/m contemporary story, Eran’s Release (part of the Ad-Dick-tion Anthology, vol. 2) to my commenters.

Please continue this wonderful hop here!

May 17th

 

Eran’s Release

Breathless Press   Amazon   All Romance eBooks

Paul isn’t attracted to Eran—he’s intoxicated by the shy, sensual younger man. He’s also confused by Eran’s mixed signals. However, the sight of Eran injured and bruised arouses a protective passion that surprises Paul. Determined to protect Eran from his brutal past, Paul discovers his future.

Excerpt:

Eran took a step back, putting some distance between them. His breath came in quick pants and a thrill of triumph shot through Paul. Eran wanted him, making him feel like a king. He laughed at the fancy, but damn it, Eran was his. He just had to make sure Eran knew it too.

“Okay,” Eran began, then flushed furiously, worrying his lips with small white teeth. “Just let me help Sandi clean up.”

“All done, lover.”

They both turned, startled, as Eran’s co-worker slung a coat over a tight black t-shirt and headed for the door. “You close up by yourself tomorrow, ass hole.”

“Thanks,” Eran said lamely, then laughed under his breath as she flicked off the lights and slammed the door on the way out of the shop.

“She hates me,” he said, turning a smile on Paul. “She had to clean up by herself the other night, too.”

Paul nodded, mesmerized by the beauty of Eran’s face illuminated in the faint glow of the streetlight outside; the pale cheeks and enormous blue eyes. He wanted to taste the full lips now. He closed the distance between them, putting a hand around to the small of Eran’s back to keep him in place. He felt the violent tremor that ran through him, then Eran relaxed under his touch.

Eran wouldn’t meet his gaze. “I’m sorry,” he said in a small voice. “I don’t mean to pull away from you.”

“Will you tell me something?” The dark head shot up, but Paul ignored the pleading look in the pale eyes. “You’re sister called here Christmas Eve. Why?”

The lean shoulders lifted. “I live with her.”

“And… Fuck, Eran. I want the truth.”

A haunted expression crossed Eran’s face. He wanted to run, but Paul would be damned if he let him. He closed the hairsbreadth between them, trapping Eran in his arms. Eran’s warm breath caressed his face, smelling of coffee and chocolate. Chocolate? His mouth watered for a taste.

He looked into the upturned eyes and deliberately touched Eran’s bruised side. “Who hurt you?” he asked. Eran trembled against him and Paul ran a soothing hand over his lean back. “Tell me.”

Eran sighed, pressing his face to Paul’s chest. “Carrie married a rough man. He’d been drinking and didn’t like it when I stepped between them.”

“Why the hell is your sister still with him?”

“She married a man like her father. Guess she’s used to it.”

Paul threw caution to the wind. “Your father beat you?”

Eran glanced aside, not answering, and jerked when Paul touched his cheek. Paul swallowed, afraid to ask the next question. “Did he…touch you?”

A harsh laugh interrupted him. “No. My dear father was disgusted by me. If anything, he was trying to beat me into liking girls.” He laughed again, mirthlessly. “Guess he failed.”

He moved restlessly and Paul let him go, frowning as he crossed the room. Would Eran just keep walking, out the door and out of his life? Hell if he’d permit it. He took a quick step after him, and nearly sagged with relief when Eran only hung up his apron and grabbed a coat from the rack by the door.

“Where do you want to go?” Paul asked as they stepped outside and Eran locked the door behind them. Eran looked up and down the sidewalk dusted with snow, still crowded with after-holiday shoppers. It was a pretty sight with light spilling from the stores. His breath came out in white puffs in the crisp night air.

“I’ve been surrounded by people all day. It would be nice to go somewhere quiet.” Eran hesitated. “Can we go to your place? That is, if you want…”

“Anywhere you like,” Paul breathed. His blood raced as he took Eran’s hand and led him to his sedan parked at the curb. He gazed a moment into Eran’s trusting, passionate eyes as he settled him into the passenger seat, then closed the door. He chewed his lip as he rounded the car to the driver’s side. Is this what I want? If things led where he expected, he wouldn’t have sex with the boy. They’d make love, and after that… His heart was in danger here. Paul would never be able to let him go.

About diannehartsock

Author of paranormal/suspense, fantasy/adventure, m/m romance and anything else that comes to mind. Oh, and a floral designer.
This entry was posted in book quotes, contests, life, ramblings and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Hop Against Homophobia!

  1. KimberlyFDR says:

    Love should always triumph over hate and I believe it always will 🙂

    KimberlyFDR
    kimberlyFDR@yahoo.com

  2. Sue says:

    Love your saying! I could say more but won’t. You know what I’m thinking

  3. Tami B. says:

    Sometimes words and the isolation they can cause are a lot more painful to people than actual physical pain. Tami (tb-kindle@hotmail.com)

  4. Andrea says:

    You’re right, words can hurt even when they aren’t meant to.

  5. Sophia Rose says:

    Thanks for sharing the reminder to think of others when we speak. I loved the excerpt. Thanks for the chance to win a copy.

  6. Tara Lain says:

    Thank you so much! : )

  7. Penumbra says:

    People can be so oblivious about the things they say, I know I can be. Thanks for the reminder 🙂

    Thanks also for the giveaway!

    penumbrareads(at)gmail(dot)com

  8. Suze says:

    A post to truly make you think. Thanks.

  9. Elin Gregory says:

    Such a sad story. Cruelty casually and uncaringly applied by people who truly couldn’t give a shit who they hurt as long as they thought they were being funny makes my blood boil.

  10. Marie Dees says:

    Oh, the poor guys. People sometimes don’t realize what their words can do.

  11. Gigi says:

    Great post. Thanks for participating in the HOP.

  12. yganoe says:

    Love is so much nicer than hate…
    Yvette
    yratpatrol@aol.com

  13. Cinders says:

    I hope he doesn’t let that stop him from being nice to whoever needs it. And considering you are a brand spanking new baby new author for me of course I am commentint to try to win one of your books as I am so far behind…lol!

  14. Foretta says:

    I showed a bunch of these post to the teens in my family to show them how hurt some “innocent” remarks are to many others. I get so annoyed when my nephew says “you’re so gay”. ERRRR drove me crazy. I know he didn’t mean anything by it but it is so wrong to use that as a saying. I think that these post have helped. Thank you all for sharing with us!
    forettarose@yahoo.com

  15. Thank you for taking part in the hop and for your interesting post.
    normanielsen@bigpond.com

  16. L.M. Brown says:

    Thanks for sharing your experience in the blog hop. I hope the delivery guy won’t be too phased by the cruel teasing and that he continues to reach out to others until he finds the one who will stand up by him and tell the taunters to back off because there’s nothing wrong with being who you are.

  17. Lisa says:

    You make a very valid point. When I see something like that happen, it makes me feel so sad. It usually stays with me the rest of the day. People really do need to stop and think before they speak sometimes.

    Thanks for taking part in the hop!

  18. Great post, Dianne. Love should be seen as the gift it is, not judged based on something like gender. The heart doesn’t see gender, only the mind. As to your story above… it’s very sad, even more so because it hurt the delivery man, but what about the co-worker who was teased? Did he go along with the teasing because he thought it ok or out of fear? So sad!

    Great quote, but sad that it’s a needed reminder.

    Tempeste.ORiley@gmail.com

  19. Erica Pike says:

    Poor guy :/ I don’t think people realize just how hurtful “innocent” teasing can be.

  20. Peggy says:

    Thanks for the post. I have enjoyed this hop.

    peggy1984@live.com

  21. PaParanormalFan says:

    Hello Dianne,

    Thank you for sharing the very thought-provoking post with Us, you’re right, words can hurt a Great Deal.

    I believe everyone deserves to be Openly Happy in Life, to be with the Person who Loves & Completes Them, without having to be subjected to the ignorance of some close-minded people. True Love does not see Race, Gender, Socio-Economic Status, etc….if people understood that, there would be so much more Happiness in this World….We Could Hope, Right???

    I would very much appreciate the opportunity to be considered in your very generous giveaway of a PDF copy of your M/M Contemporary Story, “Eran’s Release” (part of the “Ad-Dick-tion Anthology”, Vol. 2). Thank You.

    Thank You for participating in the Hop Against Homophobia.

    Take Care & Wishing You All the Best,
    PaParanormalFan Renee
    paranormalromancefan at yahoo dot com

  22. arella3173 says:

    When I was younger I used to say “that’s so gay” Without really knowing the meaning behind it or really knowing where it came from. Now that I’m older and a deep supporter of Gay rights, I’m ashamed that I used to use it. Though I know It was in ‘innocence’ If anyone heard me say it as a child and were saddened by my words, That someone so young was using such an awful phrase, I am so very sorry…. and so very glad that I don’t use it anymore.
    Thank you for being a part of the blog hop.

    Judi
    arella3173_loveless(at)yahoo(dot)com

Leave a Reply

