Howloween Blog Hop!

WELCOME TO THE HOWLEEN BLOG HOP! LET’S GET THIS SCARE STARTED …

by: James Whitcomb Riley (1849-1916)

To all the little children: — The happy ones; and sad ones; The sober and the silent ones; the boisterous and glad ones; The good ones — Yes, the good ones, too; and all the lovely bad ones.

ITTLE Orphant Annie’s come to our house to stay,
An’ wash the cups an’ saucers up, an’ brush the crumbs away,
An’ shoo the chickens off the porch, an’ dust the hearth, an’ sweep,
An’ make the fire, an’ bake the bread, an’ earn her board-an’-keep;
An’ all us other childern, when the supper-things is done,
We set around the kitchen fire an’ has the mostest fun
A-list’nin’ to the witch-tales ‘at Annie tells about,
An’ the Gobble-uns ‘at gits you Ef you Don’t Watch Out!
 
Wunst they wuz a little boy wouldn’t say his prayers,–
An’ when he went to bed at night, away up-stairs,
His Mammy heerd him holler, an’ his Daddy heerd him bawl,
An’ when they turn’t the kivvers down, he wuzn’t there at all!
An’ they seeked him in the rafter-room, an’ cubby-hole, an’ press,
An’ seeked him up the chimbly-flue, an’ ever’-wheres, I guess;
But all they ever found wuz thist his pants an’ roundabout:–
An’ the Gobble-uns ‘ll git you Ef you Don’t Watch Out!
 
 
An’ one time a little girl ‘ud allus laugh an’ grin,
An’ make fun of ever’ one, an’ all her blood-an’-kin;
An’ wunst, when they was “company,” an’ ole folks wuz there,
She mocked ‘em an’ shocked ‘em, an’ said she didn’t care!
An’ thist as she kicked her heels, an’ turn’t to run an’ hide,
They wuz two great big Black Things a-standin’ by her side,
An’ they snatched her through the ceilin’ ‘fore she knowed what she’s about!
An’ the Gobble-uns ‘ll git you Ef you Don’t Watch Out!
 
An’ little Orphant Annie says, when the blaze is blue,
An’ the lamp-wick sputters, an’ the wind goes woo-oo!
An’ you hear the crickets quit, an’ the moon is gray,
An’ the lightnin’-bugs in dew is all squenched away,–
You better mind yer parunts, an’ yer teachurs fond an’ dear,
An’ churish them ‘at loves you, an’ dry the orphant’s tear,
An’ he’p the pore an’ needy ones ‘at clusters all about,
Er the Gobble-uns ‘ll git you Ef you
Don’t
Watch
Out!

I just love Halloween and all the scary fun leading up to it! But what is it about these scary movies and stories that are so deliciously bone chilling? Why do we like to be frightened? I can’t really say. I only know that I love snuggling with my man on the couch, blanket up to my nose, holding his…um…hand, while monsters and ghouls cross the screen.

Better yet, I love to read a good ghost story, something that has me glancing over my shoulder as I turn the pages. Who can resist our handsome heroes’ mad dash for cover? The creaking on the stairs? A scream in the dark?

In fact, I love creepy scary stories so much I’ve written several of my own this year, taking part in this very chilling anthology.

Andrew Calls the Dead

Love is powerful, but is it strong enough to raise the dead? A love affair turns deadly with Steve caught in the middle.

Mini excerpt:

Steve’s head throbbed, though he didn’t recall drinking last night. He shifted to ease cramped muscles and his eyes flew open. What the fuck? Ropes bound him to a solid wood chair, arms behind him, legs immobile. His heart jumped. He was naked. Not a good sign. He tested the knots. Tight. His cock thickened with interest and he frowned. Hussy.

“Hello?” His voice echoed in the rafters. Dusty furniture and trunks and a myriad of boxes had been pushed against the walls. An attic. Faint sunlight filtered through stained glass on either end of the long room. His head cleared and he became aware of burning candles and the pungent smell of damp earth.

He panicked at the sound of footsteps on the stairs and his frantic gaze found the door as it pushed open.

The Birthday

Every birthday Cyrus visits the dance clubs with a surprise for the young men. This year, the tables are turned.

Mini excerpt:

“Did you need me, sweetheart?” he asked as he lay down and gathered Kyle’s body in his arms. The boy’s skin felt dry, soft; tight over a sparse skeleton. Cyrus could break his bones if he held too tightly.

Kyle’s enormous blue eyes swam with tears, bright with desperation. So lovely. “You’re leaving again?” he whispered, timid.

“We’ve discussed this. I always go out on my Birthday.”

“But if something happens to you…”

“I suppose you’ll die of starvation. No, thirst.” Cyrus laughed at the shudder that swept the emaciated body. “Nothing will happen to me. Promise.”

Cyrus picked up Kyle’s shackled hand with its long chain bolted to the floor and kissed the palm. He stroked Kyle’s limp cock and watched with satisfaction as it thickened under his touch. “Would you like me to fuck you tonight?”

Kyle nodded, despair in his eyes. Cyrus kissed his sweet lips, his heart moved. Kyle had been a wild thing their first months together. He regretted the scars he’d had to put on the pale flesh before Kyle had broken.

He gave the boy a last passionate kiss. “I’ll be home soon.”

In the Shadows

He waits in the shadows; silent, hungry. Careful! He might be watching you. Tonight, Bobbie finds out what it’s like to be hunted.

Mini excerpt:

Bobbie pulled a small flashlight from his pocket when the trail became too dark to see clearly. He nearly jumped out of his skin when a twig snapped nearby, but no monster leaped out of the blackness at him. He kept the light trained on his feet as he walked further under the trees.

Fucking Kent. He could be the bait next time. This fucking sucked. A grin tugged his lips. Kent may be a jerk, but his dick was sore and happy from the man’s attention in the parking lot. And Kent’s talents went beyond great head, if the grunts and moans on occasion from the men’s bathroom was any indication.

He thrust off a twinge of jealousy. Kent had men dangling on a string after him and he’d be damned if he’d join the line-up for the detective’s attention. They were partners on the job, nothing more. Even though Kent promised he’d be exclusive, he didn’t trust him.

Another snap of a twig and Bobbie put his back to a tree, heart pounding. He reached instinctively for his shoulder holster, and cursed Kent up and down and sideways for insisting he go without a gun tonight. I’m fucking killing him for this.

Breathless Press

Prize!! Simply comment below, telling me your favorite Halloween story EVER to be entered to win a $10 gift card from Breathless Press so you can buy this and other great books from your favorite authors!

PICS BY: freedigitalphotos.com
 

Continue the Hop Here!!

 
About diannehartsock

Author of paranormal/suspense, fantasy/adventure, m/m romance and anything else that comes to mind. Oh, and a floral designer.
This entry was posted in book quotes, contests, life, ramblings, Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Howloween Blog Hop!

  1. tmadamski says:

    It’s not specifically a Halloween story, but I love The Shining. Scariest book & movie ever!

  2. KimberlyFDR says:

    I don’t have favorite Halloween stories, really, but I remember growing up I had a book of scary short stories (such as “oh no, he was buried alive!”) and I used to re-read it SO MANY TIMES. Addicted, I was 😉

  3. H.L. says:

    Does Stephen King’s “It” count? Favorite Halloween movie? Halloween (the original), of course!

    H.L.

  4. lori warwick says:

    I’d have to say The Stand by King, that was scary.

    lori

  5. Christopher Hammel says:

    Scary Stories to Tell In The Dark 1, 2 &3…. Gotta love the classics from when I was a kid. 🙂

  6. URB says:

    Not specifically Hallowe’en, but The Shining scared me badly! And, the cover of ALEX is spookily beautiful–looks good! Happy Hallowe’en and thank you!

  7. Trix says:

    I’m actually not that well-versed…maybe Charles Schulz’s Great Pumpkin Peanuts strips?

    vitajex(at)aol(dot)com

  8. The Mist by Stephen King or the Headless Horsemen!

    MFierydrgn@aol.com

  9. Michelle (MiMi) says:

    I can’t remeber the name but there was a short Stephen King story about a couple of brothers visit to a pumpkin patch that I still think of many years after reading it. Please count me in.
    Thank you, chellebee66(at)gmail(dot)com

  10. Nancy S says:

    The one that stuck with me is The Headless Horseman. Still gives me shivers.

  11. Jbst says:

    I guess The Legend of Sleepy Hollow.

    strive4bst(At) yahoo(Dot) com

  12. Misha K. says:

    I love IT by Stephen King and for something lighter I adore The Nightmare Before Christmas! These stories really stick with me! Halloween is my favorite 🙂 Thank you for the hop!

    MostlyMisha[at]gmail[dot]com

  13. Jenny says:

    I’d say the Headless Horseman. It used to terrify me as a kid, but I think it’s a pretty great story now.

    JYL22075 at gmail dot com

  14. Sherry S. says:

    I really don’t know any Halloween stories but a book that totally scared me was Salem’s Lot.
    sstrode at scrtc dot com

  15. yganoe says:

    The Shining is still my all time favorite.
    Yvette
    yratpatrol@aol.com

  16. emaginette says:

    Happy Halloween. What a great post!

  17. Rush says:

    My favorite Halloween story is not a scary one at all. “It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown” That’s a movie I’d watched with my children since they were wee ones. I think, as adults that they are, they still watch it. Thanks for allowing us to Hop with you!

    taina1959@yahoo.com

  18. Raziya says:

    I really dont have a favorite story but my favorite scary movie to watch around Halloween is Friday the 13th. Thanks for the giveaway!

    raziya.harriat@gmail.com

  19. tawnycat says:

    Probably the Legend of Sleepy Hollow. It was the first one I ever got to read, in Disney format no less, and for some reason it stuck with me and of course I had to read the original once I knew Disney didn’t write it. 😀
    tawny(at)abra-cadabraalpacas(dot)com

  20. chickie434 says:

    Well, I don’t really have a fave. Though, I do like the tale of the Headless Horseman.

    tiger-chick-1(at)hotmail(dot)com

  21. arella3173 says:

    Please count me in if it’s not too late.
    ooh…yes, I love the any horror story with vampires, but i mean… cool ones like from Interview with the Vampire. LOL… oh, also any old Grimm tale. 😉

    Judi
    arella3173_loveless@yahoo(dot)com

  22. Shadow says:

    Happy Halloween!! Thank you so much for the awesome hop and giveaway! 🙂
    shadowluvs2read(at)gmail(dot)com

Leave a Reply

