Autumn’s Harvest Blog Hop!

…that country where it is always turning late in the year. That country where the hills are fog and the rivers are mist; where noons go quickly, dusks and twilights linger, and midnights stay. That country composed in the main of cellars, sub-cellars, coal-bins, closets, attics, and pantries faced away from the sun. That counry whose people are autumn people, thinking only autumn thoughts. Whose people passing at night on the empty walks sound like rain…’

The October Country, Ray Bradbury

What do you love about Autumn and Fall? What does it remind you of? What  about reading? Do you think it’s a good subject to read? Tell us your  favorite Autumn stories! Well, we authors are ready to share our favorite Autumn stories and why we  love snuggling in the cold.  *wink* Starting on Friday and ending on Nov 12th, over 200 Authors and Bloggers will share their favorite things about those sexy men we know and love.

And while we do that, we  are EACH doing a giveaway. Yep. There will be over 200 giveaways on each blog hosted by that Author or Blogger.

But that’s not all….

We have THREE grand prizes. You as a reader can go to EACH blog and comment with your email address and be entered to win. Yep, you can enter over 200 times!

Now what are those prizes?

1st Grand Prize: A Kindle Fire or Nook Tablet

2nd Grand Prize: A $50 Amazon or B&N Gift Card

3rd Grand Prize: A Swag Pack that contains 10+ paperbacks, ebooks, 50+  bookmarks, cover flats, magnets, pens, coffee cozies, and more!

Autumn. Oh my… There’s something about this time of year that makes me feel a little melancholy. Summer’s over. The long cold winter is coming. And yet, there’s something darned sexy about sitting in front of the fireplace with my honey, music playing softly, hot chocolate in hand, small kisses on his heated skin…

Ahem! I bet I’m not the only one who feels these long dark evenings are made for romance. And that goes for the books we read as well. (nice seque, huh!) Come on, who doesn’t like a hot romance to warm the chill from our bones? Today I’d like to leave you with a hot little piece from my very first published story, SHELTON IN LOVE. But first…

PRIZE TIME! Comment below telling me your favorite romantic figure for a chance to win a PDF copy of any book on my backlist. Don’t forget to leave your contact info to be entered in the Grand Prize as well!

Shelton in Love

Shelton’s falling quickly for his sexy roommate, but can he forget the pain of past rejections and give Nevil what they’re both aching for?

Shelton is falling hard for his best friend and roommate, finding Nevil’s dark good looks and moments of gentleness almost impossible to resist. But Nevil is more interested in affairs of the body than the heart. As Shelton’s desire for the man grows, he wonders if he can change Nevil’s mind. But does he even want to? Nevil might not stay, once he learns Shelton’s secret, and then his loneliness would be complete.

Excerpt:

Nevil parked the car in front of their apartment and shut off the motor. His beautiful eyes smoldered as he gazed at him, and Shelton could hardly breathe when he touched his cheek. Nevil shifted on his seat and leaned over to claim Shelton’s mouth again with his own.

The kiss was different this time, urgent, demanding, drawing an instant response from Shelton’s love-starved body. Nevil’s tongue plundered the soft lining of his mouth, plunging in and out until Shelton’s head was spinning with a nameless yearning. He slipped his own tongue between Nevil’s lips and thrilled at his soft moan. The scent of Nevil’s cologne became a pleasure in itself, alluring, seductive, swamping his doubts in an overwhelming need.

Nevil’s kisses burned down his neck, and Shelton leaned his head back to give him access as he deftly undid the buttons on his vest and the shirt beneath, spreading them open to expose his chest. Shelton’s tie was still in place, in stark contrast with his white skin. Nevil rubbed the silk over one of his nipples with a decadent laugh in his throat, sending a tingle of pleasure through him. The man quickly nipped the opposite nipple and this time the current jolted straight to Shelton’s groin, making him cry out in surprise, instantly aroused, his lower body straining against the confining clothing holding him in.

Nevil’s lips teased at the hardened bud on his chest, then returned to his mouth for another shattering kiss. “We should have done this ages ago,” Nevil murmured appreciatively, slipping an arm under him to lift him closer.

A horn blared as headlights swept through the windows, the car pulling out of the parking lot with a squeal of tires. Nevil loosened his hold, chuckling as he pulled away from Shelton. “No one’s done that since high school.”

Shelton stayed where he was, panting, slightly dazed. Nevil took his hand, kissing his fingertips. His eyes lingered on Shelton’s heaving chest. “I could take you right here,” he confessed, his voice unsteady. “But let’s go inside. I need a little more privacy for what I have in mind.”

Continue the hop here!

About diannehartsock

Author of paranormal/suspense, fantasy/adventure, m/m romance and anything else that comes to mind. Oh, and a floral designer.
This entry was posted in book quotes, contests, life, ramblings, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

38 Responses to Autumn’s Harvest Blog Hop!

  1. SJ Thomas says:

    I want to get my hands on Shelton so bad! My fav romantic figure would have to be Mr Darcy – the original alpha male just needing the right woman to bring him to his knees! Thanks Di (I’m taking part in the Hop so don’t count me for the grand prizes!)

  2. yganoe says:

    My favorite romantic figure is strong and tender all rolled into one.
    Yvette
    yratpatrol@aol.com

  3. Veronika says:

    Autumn is my favorite season! Thank you for the giveaway!

    verusbognar (at) gmail (dot) com

  4. Tammy Turner says:

    It’s hard to say what exactly would be my Go-To Autumn Romance book. When I think real hard about it, I would have to say it has a sexy, strong, determined male that when it comes to love is just lost. Then there has to be a woman who is usually in need of help or needs to know what love and family is. Together they heal each other and love turns out to be their greatest gift. I also love a happy ending at this time of year, usually where the epilogue has them starting their own family to love and cherish. Oh….and definitely HOT loving too!

    Angelheart618@gmail.com

  5. Pomma says:

    My favorite season has to be Autumn. I’m back in the lower 48 in Washington state after living in Alaska for the last 5 years. Autumn in both states arrives differently. In the Alaskan interior north of Fairbanks it arrives all at once in just a matter of days. the trees, primarily the birch reacts to the sudden temperature drops to zero by it’s leave turning a bright yellow in the span of a week. You see the quick change across the mountains, and sweeps more quickly than you can imagine. The brilliant reds and, gold, and browns scattered across the tundra.
    But I’ve missed the Northwest of Washington and Idaho green varied pine species, and their beautiful pine scent. The best scent ever! lol
    Thank you for the blog tour, and wishing you continued success always!
    Darcy
    pommawolf @hotmail.com

  6. Nancy S says:

    My favorite romantic figure would be “sigh” Cary Grant. Watch some of his old movies and you will get it. Try To Catch a Thief, him and Grace Kelly, amazing.

  7. Crystal Young says:

    Someone who is strong and lovable. Thanks for the giveaway.
    crystaley73 at yahoo dot com

  8. One of my many favorite romantic figures is Mr. Daniel Craig as Bond. I don’t usually fall for the blondes but there is something about THAT man! Yummy!

    3girlzmama at gmail.com

  9. Cassandra Hicks says:

    My newest favorite is Bones from Jeaniene Frost’s Night Huntress series 🙂
    Thanks for the awesome giveaway!
    cassandrahicks1989@yahoo.com

  10. Eva says:

    It sounds weird but there is something about George C. Scott in the movie Petulia that is so romantic to me! But, generally, rock stars 🙂

  11. Jennifer Lowery says:

    My favorite romantic figure would have to be Cary Grant! Thanks for the giveaway!
    jennyrlowery(at)yahoo(dot)com

  12. Elie says:

    I love reading about things that go bump in the night (with a touch of romance) this time of year.

    thanks for the fun!
    zenfoxflower ATyahooDOTcom

  13. April says:

    I adore autumn because of the amazing colors, bundling up in sweaters, Halloween and my birthday! Autumn also means cuddling up with a good book and a cup of cocoa!

    grapeapril75(at)gmail(dot)com

    I love the hops cause of all the awesome new books I find to add to my to read list!

  14. Natasha says:

    I don’t have a favorite. Thanks for the chance to win!
    natasha_donohoo_8 at hotmail dot com

  15. Sassy Chassy says:

    Jamie Frasier from Diana Gabaldon’s Outlander or any mega dominant alpha male.

    Sassychassy333@gmail.com

  16. Trix says:

    It depends on the situation, but I’ll enjoy finding my favorite someday!

    vitajex(at)aol(dot)com

  17. JanD says:

    Sean Connery as James Bond
    bituin76 (at) hotmail (dot) com

  18. arella3173 says:

    I love Autumn, really, only because of the wonderful colors it bring out in trees. It’s sad too cuz the leaves are dying but the colors that they go through are so damn beautiful… I sometimes can’t wait for autumn to come so I can see them! 😀

    My Favorite Romantic Figure? oh… that’s hard to say… uh….I don’t know actually… I haven’t found one yet. LOL…
    well, thank you so much for the giveaway and for being a part of this blog hop! 🙂

    Judi
    arella3173_loveless@yahoo(dot)com

  19. Thanks for the great hop.
    magic5905 at embarqmail dot com

  20. laurie g says:

    My favorite romantic figure is strong and tender all rolled into one.

    parisfan_ca@yahoo.com

  21. belindaegreen says:

    I love the burst of colors! The fall earth tone colors are very festive and beautiful. I am lucky to live where you can see the seasons change.

    I love Michael Ealey. He has the most handsome face, the most georgeous, mesmerizing eyes and a rockin body….yum!

    Thanks for the opportunity for both of us to share! I liked exploring your site and will be putting a couple of your books on my TBR list.

    Belinda G
    belgre AT Comcast DOT net

  22. tanna4abak says:

    My favorite thing about Autumn/Fall is the changing color of the leaves. They are so pretty. My least favorite thing is raking up those pretty leaves. LOL I love to curl up by the fire and read a hot romance book on a cold fall evening. Thanks for being part of the hop and for the chance to win.
    reneebennett35 (at) yahoo (dot) com

  23. Urb says:

    Autumn is my favorite season, gorgeous weather, fall colors.i am a huge Denzel Wahinfton fan–he should make more romances! Thanks for participating in the blog hop!

    brendurbanist at gmail dot com

  24. suze294 says:

    I like the early days of autumn, where its cool out but rake leaves, go for a run/walk and you soon warm up.
    I like Mark Ruffalo these days, though never say no to Matthew McConaughey!

    Littlesuze at hotmail.com

  25. Giselle says:

    I like the strong and silent (very silent!!!) type!!!

  26. Jo says:

    One of my favorite autumn memories is having big bonfires in our backyard and my uncles lighting fireworks after we came back from trick-or-treating.

    jochibi AT yahoo DOT com

  27. liese2 says:

    My favorite romantic figure is Roarke from JD Robb’s In Death series.
    Thanks for the chance to win!
    sqwalker2@gmail.com

  28. Catherine says:

    My favorite romantic figure? Dracula? Lancelot? Abelard? Just a quick three.
    catherinelee100 at gmail dot com

  29. jyl22075 says:

    That excerpt has made me pretty excited to read your book! My favorite romantic figure is probably Mr. Knightley from Emma.

    JYL22075 at gmail dot com

  30. miriam roman says:

    where i live i love to watch the mountains changing colors. thanks for joining the hop. Miriam.whitewolf@gmail.com

  31. Vanessa N. says:

    I love Autumn because it’s the start of my favorite holidays.

    mythic021@gmail.com

  32. Kaci Verdun says:

    I love the Fall because of the football games and tailgating with friends and family! And of course having a campfire with roasted hotdogs! Thanks for the chance to win a great giveaway!

    kacidesigns AT yahoo DOT com

  33. Beckey says:

    Pumpkins
    Changing colors of the leaves
    Seeing family that don’t see often usually only during thanksgiving

    Beckey
    BeckeyWhiteATgmailDOTcom

  34. SheriV says:

    I love Autumn for the leaves. I read lots of books as it gets colder.

    smurfettev AT gmail DOT com

  35. Carla says:

    Thanks for joining in the hop. It was great to be introduced to your work.
    My favorite part about autumn is that the cool weather gives me the perfect excuse to keep my oven full of yummy deliciousness that I really can’t do during two of the three other seasons. I love the feeling of being able to have yummy stuff baking while I nestle in with a good read.
    planterofhope(at)aol(dot)com

  36. lisarayns says:

    Edward Cullen. I’m getting excited for the final Twilight!

    Thanks for the giveaway!
    lisarayns at gmail dot com

  37. donnas1 says:

    Great hop! Thanks for sharing!

    bacchus76 at myself dot com

Leave a Reply

