Happy Endings Blog Hop!

happyendingsWelcome to the Happy Endings Blog Hop where each of us will tell about a fabulous first of ours! My bit is about the first time I kissed my lovely husband.

First time he kissed me

by Elizabeth Barrett Browning

First time he kissed me, he but only kissed The fingers of this hand wherewith I write; And ever since, it grew more clean and white, Slow to world-greetings, quick with its ‘Oh, list,’ When the angels speak. A ring of amethyst I could not wear here, plainer to my sight, Than that first kiss. The second passed in height The first, and sought the forehead, and half missed, Half falling on the hair. O beyond meed! That was the chrism of love, which love’s own crown, With sanctifying sweetness, did precede. The third upon my lips was folded down In perfect, purple state; since when, indeed, I have been proud and said, ‘My love, my own.’

*  *  *  *

I’ll never forget the first kiss my gorgeous husband and lover gave me! No, it wasn’t on our first date. Nor the second or third. It wasn’t until our fourth day together that he laid one on me.

We’d spent the day hiking in the Rocky Mountains and were tired but content when we got home that evening. I mean, to my home. I was living with my brother and his wife then, but they were out. Thank goodness!

I let us in through the back door. He stopped me by the washer. Oh my. My heart started racing. I had begun to think he’d never kiss me! And I sure wanted it. My husband’s tall, blond, blue-eyed and delicious. If he didn’t kiss me soon I was going to shove him up against something and take all I wanted.

He took my hands and gave me the sweetest, shyest smile I’d ever seen, then touched his lips to mine. Holy cow! I was expected a gentle little brush of mouths. But the second his lips touched mine, electricity sparked through my body, making even my toes tingle!

I gasped and he took advantage by deepening the contact, his sweet tongue dancing with mine, making my head swim. I forgot where we were. Heck, I lost contact with reality, drowning in the sensations he roused in me.

We were both breathing hard when we finally broke apart and I stared at him in wonder. Where’d that come from! Let me tell you, I wasn’t going to let this man get away.

And I’ve been enjoying those mind-blowing kisses for the past twenty-six years. Lucky me!

Prize time! For listening to me gush on, I’d like to give one commenter an e-copy of any book on my backlist. Don’t forget to leave your contact info!

Continue hopping HERE!

If curious, here is the first time my heroes, Shelton and Nevil, share a kiss.

sheltoninlove200x300Shelton in Love

Amazon  ARe Books

Shelton’s falling quickly for his sexy roommate, but can he forget the pain of past rejections and give Nevil what they’re both aching for?

Shelton is falling hard for his best friend and roommate, finding Nevil’s dark good looks
and moments of gentleness almost impossible to resist. But Nevil is more
interested in affairs of the body than the heart. As Shelton’s desire for the
man grows, he wonders if he can change Nevil’s mind. But does he even want to?
Nevil might not stay, once he learns Shelton’s secret, and then his loneliness
would be complete.

Blurb:

Shelton slid into the passenger seat as Nevil held the door, watching him as he settled in. Then suddenly Nevil bent down and kissed him full on the mouth, sending shocks of electricity straight through him.

Nevil lingered over the kiss, bringing a startled moan from Shelton as pleasure churned in the pit of his stomach, slipping down to his more intimate region. He couldn’t get enough of Nevil’s taste nor the way the man’s tongue twined with his own, seeming to wrap around his soul.

He was bereft when Nevil left him to circle the car to the driver’s seat. Without a word Nevil slipped the key in the ignition and started the engine. Shelton was intensely aware of his hand only inches from Nevil’s thigh as he shifted gears, grinding a few in his hurry. They exchanged a grin and Shelton’s pulse thundered in his ears. He was terrified suddenly, but he pushed it down. He had to trust someone again, sometime.

Shelton’s heart stumbled at the thought. Frantic, he closed his mind to the possibility of rejection, wanting this night with Nevil, aching to have the gorgeous man in his arms, pushing into him. It would be worth any heartache that followed.

Nevil parked the car in front of their apartment and shut off the motor. His beautiful eyes smoldered as he gazed at him and Shelton could hardly breathe when he touched his cheek. Nevil shifted on his seat and leaned over to claim Shelton’s mouth again with his own.

The kiss was different this time, urgent, demanding, drawing an instant response from Shelton’s love-starved body. Nevil’s tongue plundered the soft lining of his mouth, plunging in and out until Shelton’s head was spinning with a nameless yearning. He slipped his own tongue between Nevil’s lips and thrilled at his soft moan. The scent of Nevil’s cologne became a pleasure in itself, alluring, seductive, swamping his doubts in an overwhelming need.

Nevil’s kisses burned down his neck and Shelton leaned his head back to give him access as he deftly undid the buttons on his vest and the shirt beneath, spreading them open to expose his chest. Shelton’s tie was still in place, in stark contrast with his white skin. Nevil rubbed the silk over one of his nipples with a decadent laugh in his throat, sending a tingle of pleasure through him. The man quickly nipped the opposite nipple and this time the current jolted straight to Shelton’s groin, making him cry out in surprise, instantly aroused, his lower body straining against the confining clothing holding him in.

Nevil’s lips teased at the hardened bud on his chest, and then returned to his mouth for another shattering kiss. “We should have done this ages ago,” Nevil murmured appreciatively, slipping an arm under him to lift him closer.

A horn blared as headlights swept through the windows, a car pulling out of the parking lot with a squeal of tires. Nevil loosened his hold, chuckling as he pulled away from Shelton. “No one’s done that to me since high school.”

Shelton stayed where he was, panting, slightly dazed. Nevil took his hand, kissing his fingertips. His eyes lingered on Shelton’s heaving chest. “I could take you right here,” he confessed, his voice unsteady. “But let’s go inside. I need a little more privacy for what I have in mind.”

About diannehartsock

Author of paranormal/suspense, fantasy/adventure, m/m romance and anything else that comes to mind. Oh, and a floral designer.
This entry was posted in book quotes, contests, life, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

26 Responses to Happy Endings Blog Hop!

  1. Beckey says:

    Thanks for sharing the great post (& the blurb)… 🙂

    BeckeyWhiteATgmailDOTcom (email following)

  2. Cornelia says:

    Thanks for blog hop.

  3. Trix says:

    Awww, that’s so sweet!

    vitajex(at)aol(Dot)com

  4. SJ Thomas says:

    Great post and your hubby sounds like a dream. My DH and I had sparks our first time too. Thanks for the giveaway. SJThomaswpr@hotmail.co.uk

  5. Shelly Hammond says:

    Aww such a sweet, cute, adorable story! I’m so glad I checked out this blog today and read it 😀

    Shelly Hammond
    booski24@hotmail.com

  6. Super sweet!!!
    Thanks for the great giveaway

    josiehink122026(at)gmail(dot)com

  7. AWWW! Thanks for sharing! Thanks for being a part of this hop.
    Kleah921(at)gmail(dot)com

  8. bn100 says:

    Thanks for sharing.

    bn100candg(at)hotmail(dot)com

  9. Dee says:

    Awh really sweet!

  10. jennirv4967 says:

    🙂 It’s nice to read these real stories sometimes 😉

  11. myboo63 says:

    beautiful thank you

  12. Veronica says:

    Thanks for the giveaway!

  13. Nancy S says:

    Lucky lucky you! Enjoy every moment you have with him.

  14. Ellen Thompson says:

    Wow, I don’t blame you for not letting him get away! Thanks for the great giveaway.

    thompsonem3 at aol dot com

  15. Vanessa N. says:

    Great snippet. Definitely need to read this series.

    mythic021@gmail.com

  16. kaylynd says:

    Great post. My hubby first gave me a kiss on the forehead. It is something he still does 7 years later and I still think it is the sweetest thing ever. Thanks for the giveaway.
    kaylyndavis1986@yahoo.com

  17. Natasha says:

    Thanks for the chance to win!
    natasha_donohoo_8 at hotmail dot com

  18. Meghan Stith says:

    Thanks for the giveaway! This is great!

    mestith@gmail.com

  19. kimberly holgate says:

    thanks for the share and hop
    kaholgate at ymail dot com

  20. chickie434 says:

    Awww, that’s so sweet. I hope one day my husband and I have kisses like that. You’re a lucky woman!

    tiger-chick-1(at)hotmail(dot)com

  21. Laurie P says:

    Thanks for sharing, love when it right is the best thing that can happen!
    goaliemom0049 (at) gmail.com

  22. Romance Reader Enthusiast says:

    Thank you for sharing the blurb of “Shelton in love”. It has certainly left me wanting to read more. Also, thank you for participating in this great hop.

    I hope 2013 is a great year for you,
    Lynn
    lareynolds0316@gmail.com

Leave a Reply

