Hump Day Hook!

humpdayhookThis is a weekly blog hop that happens every Wednesday–Hump Day–where authors can showcase and share their work. Find other delightful hooks HERE.

This week’s hook is the opening paragraphs to my newest release WITHOUT AIDEN.

*  *  *  *

WithoutAiden_ByDianneHartsock-200x300It had been three fucking months. Aiden had to talk to him, give him a hint of that gorgeous smile he lived for. Shit. What if Aiden wasn’t alone?

Tris locked his bike at the empty stand and tucked wisps of light hair behind his ears with a shaky hand. Aiden’s red Fiat sat in its space outside his apartment door. At least he was home this morning. He could easily be spending his birthday with someone else.

Paling at the thought, Tris slung his pack on his shoulder and walked to the door. He had nothing to lose at this point. He didn’t expect much, but maybe they could talk. Clear the air. Tris missed him. God, he’d suffered hell. Months of empty days and long, achy nights without his lover.

He rapped on the door and his heart sank when he heard voices and a soft laugh inside.

About diannehartsock

Author of paranormal/suspense, fantasy/adventure, m/m romance and anything else that comes to mind. Oh, and a floral designer.
This entry was posted in #humpdayhook, blog hop, book quotes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Hump Day Hook!

  1. Phoenix J says:

    Oh poor Tris. I hope Aiden isn’t with another lover 😦

  2. Poor guy. My heart goes out to him. I guess it’s safe to say, Aiden is NOT alone.

  3. Aw, I feel for the guy. This sounds like a powerful romance. Great cover too, btw.

  4. meryvamp says:

    Hi there! My name is Mandy or meryvamp, and I’m new to HDH. Just wanted to drop in and say hi… and leave you a comment 🙂

    Ah, angst. I love it! One of my favorite ways to torture my characters, lol. But of course, that is why the reader feels for the character… cuz we’ve all experienced it. Great job 🙂

  5. I hope his lover isn’t with another and that talk they will. A great hook!

  6. Oh No!!!!!! I feel for him, nothing worse than finding your heart has moved on!

  7. Awww… Poor Tris! You have me rooting for him!

  8. Lacie says:

    Poor Tris, I hope his heart doesn’t break anymore than it already is.

  9. Sherry Gloag says:

    You convey Tris’s heartache wonderfully here.

  10. Great snippet, and I love that cover! 🙂

  11. Cathy Brockman says:

    I am hooked!!

  12. angelicadawson says:

    Oh… poor Tris.

  13. Jessica Subject says:

    Uh-oh! Who’s inside? Great hook! Congrats on your new release! 🙂

  14. I wonder what will happen when Aiden sees Tris at the door and what will Tris’ reaction be to the person inside??!

  15. Uh oh. Let’s hope Tris isn’t the insecure type! This could get messy. Nice hook!

  16. C.R. Moss says:

    Wonder why they’ve been apart if he loves him so. & I wonder who’s with the guy behind the door. Good hook! 🙂

  17. JadeCrystal says:

    Hey, it could just be a friend or a family member, right…right? I can hope, lol. Just from this excerpt, I’m already hoping for Tris and Aiden to work things out and get back together. Great hook, dragging me into the story like that. 😉

  18. aww poor guy. Hope it’s nothing!

Leave a Reply

