Hump Day Hook GIVEAWAY WEEK!!!

humpdayhookThis week not only will you find some fabulous snippets but also some great prizes! Check out the other hooks HERE.

Comment for a chance to win an e-copy of any book on my backlist. Also, for being so lovely and stopping by, you can pick up a copy of DAMON’S TOUCH for free at ARe Books, if you haven’t already. Happy reading!

DAMON’S TOUCH: As Damon’s prisoner, Lacey’s love for his beautiful captor grows, but will love be enough to set them both free?

This week I’m continuing with my story OFF SIDES  that I’m writing for the GoodReads M/M Romance promt. Pic here!

*  *  *  *

“Luke.”

His gaze jerked to the left and found Austin several yards away, looking defeated. Riley perched on a rock beside him, knees drawn up under his chin as he faced the water. Luke hurried to them, a twist of fear in his chest when he saw Austin’s tear stained face.

“What?”

Austin swallowed as if finding it difficult to speak. “Riley’s hurt and I… I don’t know what to do. I had no one else to call…” His voice broke and his face scrunched with pain, looking suddenly very young and scared.

Luke put a hand on his shoulder, gave it a gentle squeeze. “I’m here, honey. Let’s see what we can do.” His face heated, realizing he’d said the endearment out loud. But that was how he’d begun to think of them.

He took a step closer to Riley and bit back a cry, shocked. Blood oozed from cuts on his forearms, long thin lines in the pale skin. Panic surged through him. “He needs an ambulance!”

“No,” Austin said at his side, voice tired, sad. “He does that sometimes.”

For the first time Luke noticed the web of fine scars running the length of Riley’s slender arms. His heart ached but also stirred with anger, all his protective instincts coming to the forefront.

“Look at his back,” Austin begged.

Luke winced, feeling Austin’s agony as his own. He leaned over Riley and touched the hem of his shirt. “May I?”

About diannehartsock

Author of paranormal/suspense, fantasy/adventure, m/m romance and anything else that comes to mind. Oh, and a floral designer.
This entry was posted in #humpdayhook, blog hop, book quotes, contests and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Hump Day Hook GIVEAWAY WEEK!!!

  1. Cinders says:

    I am sorry I have missed this I can’t wait for it to come out, the above installment was very powerful for me darling. I will need tissues HUH? Yes I am a crier.

  2. Aww, that’s so sweet but terribly sad. Poor boy. A lovely and very touching snippet. Thank you for sharing.

  3. parisfanca says:

    loved the snip it…made me cry too

  4. Very touching snippet. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Jessica Subject says:

    Oh gosh! There is so much going on, so mant secrets. I’m loving this so far, and look forward to reading more. 🙂

  6. JadeCrystal says:

    So when is the full story going to be available? Because I’m really growing attached to these boys and I need to read their story. Dianne, you are killing me with these emotional snippets. I can feel so vividly all the pain, fear, and helplessness that both Riley and Austin are feeling here. A heartrending but wonderful snippet.

  7. Elin Gregory says:

    I’m going to have to skim back a bit to catch up. Poor kiddy. My son did a bit of cutting when he was in his teens. I was so relieved to find out about it and put an end to the cause.

  8. Sue says:

    You convey the emotion so well it’s like we know him and can feel his pain

  9. I really like your writing style. Wonderful hook. 🙂

  10. “He does that sometimes.” What a wonderful, yet heart-wrenching line. Makes me wonder the cause behind his cutting. Very emotional snippet.

  11. valloryv says:

    Oh my gosh, wonderful moving snippet.

  12. So emotional…made me sad.

  13. A heartrending snippet indeed. Well done.

  14. What an emotional explosion! I can’t wait to read this when it is out!

  15. Cathy Brockman says:

    I love books tht require tissues! I cant wait for this! sugar_n_spice63830@yahoo.com

  16. Powerful and emotional. Thanks for sharing.

  17. Trix says:

    So heartrending! I’ll be rooting for their HEA for sure!

Leave a Reply

