The Equal Rights Blog Hop!

equalrightbloghopWelcome to the Equal Rights Blog Hop!

July the 4th marks the celebration of Independence Day in the United States. We invite you to take place in a blog hop to celebrate our own march toward independence!

This has been a year of discovery for me. I guess you can say I’ve lived a pretty insular life up until now. Since my private life is…well, private…at times I feel isolated and lonely. That is, until I started writing erotic romances. Since then I’ve been introduced to groups of people I hadn’t interacted with much before, which has been very nice.

I took part in the Love is Love Blog Hop back in February, where I wrote about the term ‘gender fluid’, which I’d never heard used before. I’m not a big fan of labels, but gender fluid to me is a beautiful description for this lovely group of people. I have a couple of friends I tentatively asked if they would use this term to describe themselves. They smiled back and said yes, I was finally getting it.

Another term is transgendered. I knew what it meant, but only recently have I connected with people who describe themselves this way. And I’m so glad I did! A friend of mine has married a transgendered male, and I was able to meet him without asking all the awkward, stupid questions I might have before I became involved in this wonderful community.

flowers2I also took part in the Hop Against Homophobia and Transphobia, open to the whole of LGBTQ…more labels! But you know what, this acronym has caught my attention, opened my mind to the diverse and wonderful nature of humans. We’re such beautiful, complex creatures! I’m looking forward to the day when there will be no segregation. We’ll simply all be human beings living together, if not completely at peace, at least with tolerance.

Until then, I think it’s important to acknowledge our differences. The unknown leads to mistrust and fear and hate. If we truly know someone, it’s harder to hate them.

This is probably the main reason I enjoy writing in the m/m erotic romance genre. I’ve met some wonderful people in this writing community who have shared their life journeys. Through them and the research I do for my books, I’m learning that, although we’re all different, love is still love no matter what form it takes.

Be yourself, because you don’t know who might love the person you hide.

Prize time! Comment for a chance to win a copy of any book on my backlist. Don’t forget to leave your contact info.

Also! Answer this question for your chance at the Grand Prize! What is the acronym that has suddenly caught my attention?

Thanks for stopping in! I’d like to leave you with a little flash I wrote for the Hot Flashes Anthology from Breathless Press.
HotFlashesVol1 200x300Robin’s Confession 

Amazon  ARe Books
Excerpt

He twirled, feeling pretty, desirable, feminine. He adored the way the cool nylon caressed his skin and clung to the slight bulge of his dick. Robin’s smile slipped. What would Jesse think of him, dressed like this? Doubt slithered into his dream of a happily ever after and his stomach churned with worry. It had taken months to capture Jesse’s attention. He’d just had the best month of his life with his insatiable boyfriend, full of laughter and crazy sex.

But what if Jesse wasn’t ready to see this part of him? Robin shuddered as ice touched his heart. What if Jesse was never ready?

The slam of the front door made his heart race a thousand miles an hour. Oh, Shit! His gaze darted frantically around the overturned bathroom. No place to hide.

“Darling, where are you?”

Fuck! Why did he have to put this fucking dress on? Everything was ruined. Robin backed against the sink, miserable as the door swung open.

Jesse’s gaze burned over him and something flickered in his blue eyes. “What’s this shit?”

Robin’s heart broke. He couldn’t speak as anguish knotted in his throat. Making a strangled little sound, he pushed by Jesse and fled across the bedroom. He had to get away! He ignored Jesse’s shout and darted through the sliding glass door, escaping outside.

Sprinting across the lawn into the trees, he hid behind a tall maple when the tears made it difficult to see. Oh Jesus. Oh, Fuck. Jesse would throw him out and he’d be alone again.

“Fucking little queer,” he muttered, just then hating who he was.

“Hope you’re not talking to me.”

Robin jumped at the voice then stared at the ground, breathing hard, waiting for the cruel words and laughter he deserved. Fingers brushed his cheek and he flinched, but didn’t resist when Jesse tilted his chin upward. His lips parted in a gasp on seeing the warmth in Jesse’s eyes. Jesse stepped closer to him, trapping Robin between the tree and his strong body.

“Two things,” his boyfriend murmured, brushing Robin’s lips with his own. “Never run from me again. And…” he punctuated each word with a nip on Robin’s bottom lip. “Baby, you look fucking adorable.”

Robin collapsed back against the tree, weak with hope. “What?”

Jesse pulled him into his arms and ran his hands down Robin’s back. He cupped Robin’s ass, nudging their cocks together. “I said you’re damned sexy, honey. I’ve been waiting weeks to see you like this, but you’re even prettier than I imagined.” He thrust his hips. “I want to fuck you right here against this tree.”

Jesse suddenly ducked his head and put his mouth on one of the small buds poking against the nylon on Robin’s chest, biting gently. Robin’s head swam with pleasure and bewilderment. “I don’t understand. How did you know…about me?”

“You forgot to log off of Xdress after you ordered. In fact, I want to see…”

Jesse dropped to his knees in the soft moss, the spark of desire in his eyes, and Robin held his breath as Jesse slowly raised the hem of the short dress.

About diannehartsock

Author of paranormal/suspense, fantasy/adventure, m/m romance and anything else that comes to mind. Oh, and a floral designer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to The Equal Rights Blog Hop!

  1. yganoe says:

    We should always be ourselves no matter what! It s the best form of true expression.
    Yvette
    yratpatrol@aol.com

  2. parisfanca says:

    being yourself is the only way to go. its to hard to be something other than yourself

    parisfan_ca@yahoo.com

  3. “If we truly know someone, it’s harder to hate them.”
    You’re absolutely right. Lovely post, Dianne! *hugs*
    ~Charley

  4. Linda says:

    you should always be yourself. I’d like to enter your contest

    yinyang1062 at yahoo dot com

    thanks

  5. Cornelia says:

    To know someone else shows who you are inside.

  6. Trix says:

    It’s the LGBTQ acronym (and I love the “be yourself” quote)!

    vitajex(at)aol(dot)com

  7. Such a great post, Dianne! And I just love the flower guy… so sweet/cute :c)
    and LGBTQ is the acronym that caught you.
    … I LOVE this excerpt! I think gender fluid guys are HOT and this teaser shows it so well. Thanks!

    tempeste.oriley@gmail.com

  8. Sue says:

    Hmm for some reason I was under the impression you were blogging on the issues for quite a while. It’s a wonderful world out there and your excerpt brought tears. By the way, re: one of the comments, a poll here in Canada asked how people changed their mind about gay marriage (legal since 2005) most responses mentioned something like “the people I know who are gay” thus when family or friends or friends of family are GBLTQ, others find them easy to accept

  9. Iyana Jenna says:

    Be yourself. What a great thing to say. Yes, you’re right.

    And I LOVE the excerpt. So cute. 🙂

    iyanajenna@yahoo.com

  10. Lisa G says:

    The acronym which caught your attention is LGBTQ. I love the be yourself quote.

    Wolphcall(at)bellsouth(dot)net

  11. Lisa G says:

    The acronym that has caught your attention is GLBTQ. I love the be yourself quote.

    Wolphcall(at)bellsouth(dot)net

  12. Cathy Brockman says:

    the acronym was GLBTQ or was it Homophobia and Transphobia? LOl I loved the entire post Well saud..I adore the little cartoon! sugar_n_spice63830@yahoo.com

  13. H.B. says:

    Great quote and wonderful post. Thanks so much for sharing and participating in the hop.

    humhumbum AT yahoo DOT com

  14. sherry1969 says:

    LGBTQ is the acronym that has suddenly caught your attention.
    sstrode at scrtc dot com

  15. Yes, you should always be yourself–it is better than being a fake somebody else. Thanks for hosting the blog.
    Cathy
    romanczukc@yahoo.com

  16. Penumbra says:

    Cute excerpt 🙂 And ‘LGBTQ’ has caught your attention

    penumbrareads(at)gmail(dot)com

  17. Carolyn says:

    Aww, that excerpt was beautiful. I love the message of being yourself. Thanks for sharing!

  18. lenagrey says:

    ” A friend of mine has married a transgendered male, and I was able to meet him without asking all the awkward, stupid questions I might have before I became involved in this wonderful community.”

    This statement stood out for me in particular, because it’s something I said in a post I wrote for the Jaimie Mayfield blog about my transgender male son.

    “There is one resource I’ve been very blessed to have. I review LGBT books and through this work, have learned about what transgender means, not just from the literature I’ve read and reviewed, but, also, through the wonderful friends I’ve made in the genre. Their support has been invaluable and when I’ve waivered in my confidence, my ability to support him, all of them have assured me how lucky he is to have me as a mom and to never doubt that I’m up to the task.”

    LGBTQ is the answer to your question as to what has caught your attention. Thank you!

    lena.grey.iam@gmail.com

  19. Marie says:

    LGBTQ is the acronym that answers your question. That’s a great quote about being true to yourself, as well. Thank you for your great blog post and for participating in the hop!

    awindandbooks at gmail dot com

  20. Sarah_Madison says:

    That excerpt was really touching. 🙂 The acronym is LGBTQ! Thanks for sharing with us! akasarahmadison[at]gmail[dot]com

  21. chickie434 says:

    It’s taken me years to learn that I’m perfect just the way I am. Thanks so much for participating Dianne!

    tiger-chick-1(at)hotmail(dot)com

  22. What you said is so true. It is important to be yourself above everything else. Thanks for sharing and participating.

  23. Beth says:

    Great post and I love that last line “love is still love no matter what form it takes.” Wish everyone thought that.

    carolcobun @ yahoo .com

Leave a Reply

