Wt Prater- Sexuality, DOMA, and Beyond

wtYou’re in for a treat! I’m privileged to have the very talented Wt Prater on my blog today. *nods* The floor’s yours, Wit:

I made a choice. A choice to be real. Those who read my post earlier this week, or better for those who didn’t, I talked about being involved with a church that was a cult. If you want to read that post please click here. For the next two or three years after I left that church, I had to fight the feeling that I was going to die and go to Hell. Not a fun feeling. And then something changed. It was a slow process, I don’t remember an exact day time or incident that happened but I began to understand that this feeling or these feelings inside me were not unnatural.

People who have never had a gay experience equate being gay with the sexual aspect, but fail to understand that there is an emotional aspect with that as well. Sure as a teenager and even as a young adult, it seemed like it was more about me having an orgasm than a connection. But even then, when I had the opportunity to choose between someone I felt nothing for other than lust and someone that I had a sincere emotional connection with, I chose the latter of the two.

I am extremely proud that DOMA was defeated, and now more states are fighting for “gay marriage” but that isn’t the most important issue, at least for me. The most important issue for me is is making sure that we understand equality, that we make sure that no one is made feel like they are a lesser man or woman because of who they fall in love with. I made a choice, not to be gay, but to be happy. Or at least pursue that happiness.

I don’t know that I’ll ever find the man of my dreams, and I love the idea that I will be able to marry that man when and if I ever find them. But I want to know that teenagers, gay and straight and everywhere in between, black, white, and every other skin color, atheists, agnostics, Christians, and every other faction will all be protected from bullying of any kind. I want to know that every adult will treat all other adults with respect, not just tolerate one another, but actually learn to embrace and enjoy the different aspects that we can offer each other.

Enver and Deanna Mann, of the short story “Exercising His Options”, represent a new type of marriage that is not just based on commitment, but more importantly honesty and communication. They are a couple who love each other so much that each of them are not afraid to explore uncomfortable, difficult terrain because they want to grow as a couple. For me, it is more important to see examples of these different relationships then it is to see the same cookie-cutter couples that get jealous or broken in trying to maintain a stereotype of a relationship. I truly believe in my heart that they are an example of relationships, both of old and of the future. But, as always, these are my opinions. What are yours?

AUTHOR BIO

Wt Prater is a writer, having four short stories in various states of publishing, and approximately thirty works in progress. Just Write and SO Gay is his blog, which he strives to update weekly. He is a producer and host on Blog Talk Radio, partnering with Writer’s Online Network of which he helps lead. He is also an Assistant Organizer of the Nashville Writer’s Group. Online, he has active social networking on Facebook, Twitter, Fetlife, Linked In, Tumbler, Goodreads, and Meet Up. In real life, he stays just as busy bouncing around in his non-profit volunteering from the GLBT community to the BDSM community to church community.

Blog:  Just Write and SO Gay   Facebook   Twitter

Adicktionvo3 267x400

Exercising His Options

Breathless Press    ARe Books     Bookstrand

When Enver Mann started jogging every morning, it was at his wife’s provocation. After a year, he’s still at it, but now it’s his choice. Little does he know, that choice may open up a whole world to him. While jogging one day, he happens upon two men having sex, and for the first time he wants that. The man with the red hair and the incredible ass. And while his mind might second guess him, his wife doesn’t. When she instigates their encounter, Enver knows he will never look at life, or sex, the same way again.

EXCERPT

As Enver Mann looked at Kurt’s hair caught in the wind, and the freckles on the back of his neck that disappeared somewhere into his jacket, Enver wanted nothing more than for this man to lay him down and kiss him. All of course while he was fucking him as hard as he could.  The breeze continued to blow the leaves up and around, creating still more of the tornado like shapes. As the sun continued to peek out of the sky, from behind a cloud, Enver noticed that it now set its gentle light on some places while leaving some spots completely dark.  He looked at Kurt again and saw that the light bounced from his copper hair to his now sweaty shirt. For the first time that he could remember in his life, his mouth actually watered for a sexual act. Thinking of that tender flesh, and the taste he had been yearning for since he had first seen Kurt, he got even harder. Every dream and desire for the last week or so had all involved this man, in some form or fashion. His wife made sure of that.

About diannehartsock

Author of paranormal/suspense, fantasy/adventure, m/m romance and anything else that comes to mind. Oh, and a floral designer.
This entry was posted in book quotes, guest blog and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Wt Prater- Sexuality, DOMA, and Beyond

  1. Thanks for being my guest today, Wit! I agree. Every single relationship is different and we can’t stand on the outside of one and judge them, deciding what they should and shouldn’t do. Like they say, love is love! The form it takes is beautiful, whatever it may be. (Oh, and the writer in me is aching to find your perfect guy and write your Happily Ever After!)

  2. Great post straight from the heart. Congratulations on the new release!

Leave a Reply

