I have the lovely Raven McAllan today!

rav1Believe in your self, because if you don’t why should others?

This saying was brought home to me the other day quite forcibly, when someone who shall we nameless said to me… “Oh I hear you write.”

Oh course I said yes, (very modestly) and they went on to ask me if I ever thought anything of mine would be worth publishing!

Now how do you answer that and not sound blooming rude? I could have said ‘well my publishers seem to think so—nearly fifty times at the last count’, but do you know? I didn’t. I smiled and decided they meant had I thought before I submitted anything would it be picked up, not that I wasn’t published. I said well of course I hoped so, one day, and yes I’m very pleased with they way things are going.

I got a ohh, right, in a ‘really?’ tone, and the subject changed.  And I wondered, why are some people so negative?

Later the person was niggling at me again. “did you really  know you’d get published? Well of course I didn’t, but I hoped. I’d had my work read by some no hold barred critics, and they liked it, and most of all I liked it! (That’s got to be a given really.) I ra3believed in myself. I had the courage to show my baby to the world.

Yes I knew not everyone would like, in fact some people would loath it and take great delight in telling the world it was a load of badly written rubbish. Then again someone else might say it was almost the best thing since sliced bread. The truth is somewhere in the middle I guess.

It’d be a sad old world if we all liked and disliked the same thing but luckily we don’t. The world, and especially the world of words is rich and varied.

We, as authors (and oh how I love to say that) can create our own pictures, in our voice, and believe someone somewhere will like it. Most of us couldn’t stop writing whatever happened. It’s a great great feeling.

Self-belief is a precious, valuable thing. It’s very easy to loose it. Bad hair day, bitch boss, snidey review… But deep down, if you can say, I did my very best, and hey the editor, publisher, and x, y and z, like it, then that’s what it’s all about. They believe in you, you believe in you, and let’s carry on doing that eh?

 I never thought when my fist story was accepted just two years ago, I’d write so many, in so many different sub genres, and have them published. Some do better than others, but it’s been (and continues to be) a steep learning curve, and one I love.

ra2EBooks have given me the chance to expand what I write, to see if I can connect with readers with different likes and dislikes, and that’s great.

Long may it continue…

Happy Reading,

Love, Rx

Nosy links (because if you’re like me you like to know what’s going on)

Raven lives in Scotland, along with her husband and their two cats—their children having flown the nest—surrounded by beautiful scenery, which inspires a lot of the settings in her books.

She is used to sharing her life with the occasional deer, red squirrel, and lost tourist, to say nothing of the scourge of Scotland—the midge.

A lover of reading, she appreciates the history inside a book, and the chance to peek into the lives of those from years ago. Raven admits that she enjoys the research for her books almost as much as the writing; so much so, that sometimes she realizes she’s strayed way past the information she needs to know, and not a paragraph has been added to her WIP.

Her lovely long-suffering husband is learning to love the dust bunnies, work the Aga, and be on stand-by with a glass of wine.

 You can find out more about Raven here…

 http://www.ravenmcallan.com

http://www.ravenmcallan.blogspot.com

https://www.facebook.com/rmcallan        (my page)

https://www.facebook.com/ravenmcallan            (author page)

https://twitter.com/RavenMcAllan

What a wonderful post Raven! Thank you so much for being my guest and giving us a glimpse into your world. 🙂

About diannehartsock

Author of paranormal/suspense, fantasy/adventure, m/m romance and anything else that comes to mind. Oh, and a floral designer.
This entry was posted in book quotes, guest blog, life, ramblings and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to I have the lovely Raven McAllan today!

  1. ravenmcallan says:

    Thanks for inviting me here, and Leona, that’s exactly the right answer!

Leave a Reply

