SALVATION by Kelly Ryan!

zombieI would like to thank Dianne for letting me stop by today, she is such a sweetie!

As it is October, I like many people, have turned to thinking about Halloween, my favorite holiday. I love dressing up and scary movies and books. Something that tends to go hand in hand with spooky goings ons are zombies. Well and look at that, my publisher Breathless Press has turned October into Dead Man Walking month, releasing 8 books involving the walking dead. So of course I had to get involved and write my own little story about zombies, even though I have tended to keep write more about the cool kids of the undead world, vampires. Zombies were going to be a challenge.

Now I am never one to do what is normal and expected, so I had to make my zombies different. Besides, the idea of rotting corpses just didn’t inspire me to that loving feeling if you know what I mean. So I did some research (hey watching a documentary on how a real zombie apocalypse could come about while my brother changes the oil in my car totally counts as research!) and found an alternative, one that was not only plausible but also offered a hint of hope.

Why did I need to have hope associated with my zombies you ask? Because I am a romantic at heart and I wanted my character, Kol and Nick, to have a chance at their very own happily ever after and they needed hope that there was life after zombies for that to happen.

Now all I had to do was come up with a story. For me inspiration comes from anywhere, and often from real life. This story was no different. I knew what my zombies were, but I needed a story for that to make them come to life so to speak. I will admit I was stumped for a bit on how to bring about the zombie apocalypse and spent some time pondering different storylines.

I took a trip to NYC to visit one of my best friends and was sunbathing on the top of his building relaxing and inspiration literally flew across the sky. A bunch of military helicopters flew across the Manhattan skyline in formation. It was rather freaky to witness. So my mind automatically jumped to a zombie invasion and the first scene of my story was set. After that Salvation wrote itself.

So do they get their happily ever after? What makes my zombies different? Well I’m not going to give you all the goods, a girl has to eat!

But I will give you a little sneak peak… here is an excerpt from my first zombie novella, Salvation!

 

Not knowing why, not examining her actions or thinking about the consequences, Kol leaned forward and kissed Nick on the lips. She was very tentative at first, but when he put up no resistance, she deepened the kiss, parting his lips with her tongue, truly tasting him. She moved closer to him, turning and practically crawling onto his lap. As way of encouragement, Nick reached down and pushed his seat all the way back, giving Kol all the room she needed to continue her course of action. Needing no further invitation, she crawled onto him, straddling him, all the while never breaking their passionate kiss.

Once she was on top of him, Kol lost a little bit of her confidence, some of the self-doubt that had always followed her around began to work its way back into her psyche. Nick could clearly sense that something wrong, for he brought both his hands up to her face and held her gaze as he spoke to her.

“This is a traumatic time; we don’t have to do anything if you don’t want to. I don’t want to make matters worse for you. I only want to protect you, make you feel safe.”

“You do make me feel safe. Plus, I have wanted you since the moment that I laid eyes on you; I just don’t want to force you to do something out of pity or…” Kol trailed off, finding it impossible to put into words that she her fears that a man like Nick could ever want damaged goods like her.

Nick brought his lips slowly and deliberately back to hers and kissed her gently. “I wanted you when I first saw you move into the building. You are a gorgeous woman and if we had not seen those helicopters and planes from the roof of the building, I think you would have been spending the night in my bed. So trust me when I say, I am doing nothing out of pity here. Lust yes, pity no.”

 

I am rather proud of this spooky and spicy story. It is a perfect read for a lazy autumn afternoon. Below is a purchase link and some links so you can follow me if you wish. Thanks for taking the time to read a little bit about my zombie story.

 Purchase link:

Breathless Press

Author Links:

Website: http://sherivelarde.weebly.com/

Facebook: Sheri Velarde/Kelly Ryan

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Sher_

 Blurbs:

Kol’s living her dream. Her gorgeous neighbor, Nick, promised to make her life brighter yet, until something from her past threatens the entire world

Kol is trying to outrun her troubled past and start anew. She is finally living the life she always wanted in NYC, where she has met the man of her dreams, Nick. Just when her future is looking bright, an infection takes hold of the country, sending her and Nick on a race for their lives. Now Kol must face the pain she wanted to leave behind forever, in order for anyone to have a future.

About diannehartsock

Author of paranormal/suspense, fantasy/adventure, m/m romance and anything else that comes to mind. Oh, and a floral designer.
This entry was posted in book quotes, guest blog and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to SALVATION by Kelly Ryan!

  1. Denise Z says:

    This looks like it is going to be a fun sweet bite. Thank you for taking the time to share with us and congratulations on this new release! I wish you every success and joy 🙂

Leave a Reply

