#mywritingprocess Blog Tour

roses4.jpgI was asked by the lovely Jennifer Hartsock to answer four questions about my writing process.

This blog tour is where writers and authors answer questions about their writing process. You can find Jennifer’s answers HERE!

Here’s my answers!

1) What am I working on?
*slow smile* This is always a loaded question for me. I’m the master at juggling several things at once. First, I’ve just finished up with edits on a ‘flirt’ for Breathless Press, a short 7500 word m/m romance. Second, I’m working on edits for SAMMY, my story for the Project Fierce, Chicago anthology to come out later this year. All proceeds from the sale of this book will go towards helping homeless LGBTQ youth. Third, I’ve finished first round edits on THE SHED, my sequel to my psychological thriller novel ALEX, and am gearing up for the next round. And lastly, I’m busy writing my Christmas story, yay! I’ve been waiting to write this one for about a year and am happy to say I’ve hit 20k, which is about a third of the way through.

2) How does my work differ from others of its genre?
Most of my stories are m/m romance or m/m erotic romance, covering every subgenre you can think of. But the way I think my stories differ from others, is that I’m all about emotion. No matter what situations they find themselves in, I want to climb right into my character’s skin, dive into his soul, feel every sensation and emotion as he’s experiencing it. It’s an intimate, personal relationship I hope my readers will enjoy.

3) Why do I write what I do?
*blushes slightly* That is a very good question! Why do I choose to write m/m romances rather than more traditional stories? The easy answer is that I find gay men fascinating and thoroughly enjoy creating characters who have no problem with their sexuality. But more than that, I absolutely believe that love is love, and I hope to show through my writing that hey, whatever gender you identify with, we are all, first of all, human. We all laugh and cry, feel joy and pain, love and heartache and passion. By having my characters be gay or bi men, being human, my readers might realize it’s okay to be their true authentic selves.

4) How does my writing process work?
I sometimes ask myself this! There’s a lot of advice out there saying writers should just write the story as it comes to them, jot it all down and clean up the MS during edits. That sounds so freeing! Just let my imagination flow on the page. Unfortunately, I can’t write that way. A nugget of an idea might strike me, grabbing my attention. I’ll start to daydream about the story. Who will my characters be? One of my favorite parts of writing is that my heroes come to me readymade. This will be a contemporary story? Well, here’s Shelton and Nevil, ready and eager for me to tell their story. It will take me a few days to plot out the story in my head, but then I’m ready to go.

The beginnings are always the hardest and might take me several days to get just right, but after that the story seems to take off. I already have the arc of the story and its ending in mind. The characters might take some side trips, and that’s encouraged, but I can usually have them rounded up by the ending. But this is not always as easy as it sounds. For me, each scene has to be written the way I need it to be, every action and emotion conveyed before I can continue the story. I build on one scene to the next. Trying to write ahead and then go back and fill in the details just doesn’t work for me. Yes, it does take me a long time to get a story done, but once I’m finished, the edits afterwards are quick and simple and easily done. Perfect!

—–

Next week on the writing process blog tour are three authors whose work I admire. They’ll be answering these questions on April 28th.

Tempeste O’Riley:

Tempeste O’Riley grew up in the deep south and escaped her conservative, oppressive roots as soon as she could. Tempe is an out and proud omnisexual/bi-woman whose best friend growing up had the courage to do what she couldn’t–defy the hate and come out. He has been her hero ever since.

 Though new to writing M/M, she has done many things in her life but writing has always drawn her back–no matter what else life has thrown her way. She counts her friends, family, the gods, and her Muse as her greatest blessings in life.

Pablo Michaels:

Pablo Michaels is primarily a loner. He was born gay. When he worked at the local public library in high school, he smuggled out adult fiction and non-fiction, discovering a disenchanted perception of gay life. Coming from very domineering conversationalist’s family and friends, he withdrew to express his life through words and fantasies. He devoted his life, while working full-time and part-time at another job in San Francisco in the 1980’s, to write and submit his stories, novels and poetry. He found his true voice for the craft in 1990 when he began an unfinished novel. “The Deer in the Forest” is still unfinished. He diverts his nervous energy into perfecting the voices that drive him into this craft he loves. He believes god is present in all human beings, plants, nature and the universe, and if given the chance, they will speak to a true romanticist’s heart and soul, like himself.

Pablo published his first two e-books, When Johnny Comes Marching Home Again, Hooray and Pagan Knights of Cambria in 2010. In 2012 he published his first novel, Catnip, Rosemary, Rage and Time. In 2012 he published the short story A Night at San Gregorio Beach in the anthology The Boys Club.
He soon will submit Leather Sweat, Semen and Blood and Then and Now for publication, in an effort to resurrect his fiction writing career.

Jake Malden:

I’m a free-lance journalist and recently published erotic writer. My titles ‘The Jared Effect’, ‘Gabrielle and the Devil’ and ‘No Mercy’ are now available on Smashwords and Amazon. When not meeting deadlines I enjoy fitness training, reading, cinema and sex. The last of these has caused a few close-shaves with deadlines.

About diannehartsock

Author of paranormal/suspense, fantasy/adventure, m/m romance and anything else that comes to mind. Oh, and a floral designer.
This entry was posted in blog hop and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to #mywritingprocess Blog Tour

  1. Thank you for participating! It was a lot of fun to read through your answers!

Leave a Reply

