Amazon Countdown Sale! The Shed, only 1.99!

The Shed7Today only! THE SHED  is 1.99 at AMAZON

As a Certified Mental Health Therapist, Scott Reid has his share of interesting experiences, though nothing compares with the time he spends with the psychic, Alex Elson. Plagued by terrifying images and dreams, Alex turns to Doctor Reid in the hopes of learning to control his visions. Instead, Scott is pulled into Alex’s world, where dreams and reality mix and nightmares are real.

Two young men, brothers, have been abducted from the lake outside of Oakton without a trace of who took them. That is, until Alex receives a silver pocket watch in the mail belonging to the elder brother, a taunt from the kidnapper for Alex to come find them. Alex’s visions turn at once into nightmares. Images flash in his mind of an abandoned well and a terrified, lonely boy slowly dying at the bottom. The shed looms close by, holding a horrifying secret, a dark place Alex’s frightened mind refuses to go.

With the help of Scott Reid, Alex endeavors to control his visions and find he brutalized victims before death claims them. But the watch is ticking away and time’s running out

Excerpt:

The pencil snapped in Alex’s hand, startling him from the painful memory. He impatiently scrubbed the tears from his eyes, refusing to indulge in self-pity. He was no longer that helpless child, subject to his mother’s brutal discipline. Scott Reid had helped him realize that his mother had needed psychiatric help, that her rages were the product of a confused mind. She loved him the only way she knew how, trying to save him from becoming the evil man his father had been when he’d abandoned her, pregnant and alone.

Alex had been able to forgive her. Now if he could only forget! He looked at the dark vortex he’d drawn on the paper, spiraling into a tiny empty spot.

“Christopher?” he whispered. He started on the outside ring and followed the spiral with his eyes toward the center, his lonely soul reaching out to the tormented boy. Darkness closed around his vision, focused downward on that small point on the page.

Alex gasped as cold air struck his body and trembled in the faint moonlight inside the well. Christopher lay curled on his side, asleep. Oh God. He knelt and searched the young man’s face, pale, gaunt with suffering. Alex reached for him with an unsteady hand, praying to make a connection. He felt a solid shoulder, but then pain like a shard of ice shot up his arm and he screamed as it plunged into his heart.

He struggled away from the vision, coming back to the studio to find the lights on overhead. He must have fallen out of the chair and lay with his head in Jane’s lap. She gave him a tentative smile. “Honey?”

“I’m okay.” He sat up and pulled her into his arms. “I’m sorry I woke you.”

“Hey, I don’t care about that. Was it the boy?”

Alex nodded and pushed his face into Jane’s shoulder. She nudged him back, made him look in her eyes. She gave him a small kiss, brushed the tears off his cheeks. “Can you tell me?”

“He breaks my heart! So alone and frightened and determined.” Awe filled him. “I touched his shoulder, Jane. Felt it under my fingers. I wonder…”

Jane stood up when he did and he tapped the picture of the spiral he’d drawn. “I think I hypnotized myself with this. I wonder if Scott Reid could help me go further. If I could just talk to Christopher, maybe he could tell me where he is. At least I could let him know we’re looking, that someone cares.”

Jane frowned, thoughtful. “You touched him? Is that even possible?”

Alex nibbled a lip, mind racing with possibilities. “I don’t know. I might have just wanted it so much I imagined it. But I’m pretty sure I can talk to him if I tried really hard. I need to call Scott—”

“Honey! It’s two o’clock. Let’s wait and call in the morning.”

Alex sighed. It was so hard to wait when he knew Christopher was hurting. “I suppose that’s the best thing to do,” he said with reluctance and absently turned off the lamp on the desk.

He studied the dark spiral he’d drawn until Jane tugged on his arm. “Come on, Alex. You should try to get some sleep. It might be a hard day tomorrow.”

 

About diannehartsock

Author of paranormal/suspense, fantasy/adventure, m/m romance and anything else that comes to mind. Oh, and a floral designer.
This entry was posted in book quotes, New Book and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

