Simply Shakespeare Blog Hop!

shakespeareHello! Welcome to my little corner of the Simply Shakespeare Blog Hop! It’s always surprising to me how often I hear Shakespeare being quoted in everyday life. It’s so fun! And he has so many great quotes. Here’s a few of my favorites:

  1. To be, or not to be: that is the question. (Hamlet)
  1. Some are born great, some achieve greatness, and some have greatness thrust upon them. (Twelfth Night)
  1. I am one who loved not wisely but too well. (Othello)
  1. We are such stuff as dreams are made on, and our little life is rounded with a sleep. (The Tempest)
  1. Love looks not with the eyes, but with the mind; and therefore is winged Cupid painted blind. (A Midsummer Night’s Dream)

Okay! I could go on forever. I first met Shakespeare in fifth grade, hearing aloud for the first time those epic words, “Romeo, Romeo! Wherefore art thou Romeo?” (Romeo and Juliet) I didn’t know any better at the time and envisioned Juliet on her balcony calling into the night for her lover. Yes! I know it’s the wrong interpretation, but I was only ten. And, oh sigh! The romance of it! I pictured myself on the balcony calling out for Billy, my curly haired crush at the time.

Since then, I’ve considered Shakespeare to be the height of romance, even when some of his characters make me laugh out loud, cry with them, or sometimes infuriate me.

For my contribution to the Summer’s Day Anthology, I’m writing a contemporary story loosely based on The Two Gentlemen of Verona. If you haven’t read that one yet, you should! Valentine is a dear. Proteus will irritate you more than once. And Speed’s humor made me laugh out loud in almost every scene with him, which is always a plus for me.

Okay, I’m sure you want to get on with the hop HERE so I’ll leave you with a smile:

 

Thanks for stopping in! And just because, here’s links to my two FREE stories, which have absolutely nothing to do with Shakespeare, but might be a pleasant way to spend an afternoon.  Happy reading!

Damon’sTouchDamon’s Touch

Damon is used to taking what he wants, whether it’s men to bed or feed upon. He is careful with his conquests, knowing the danger that the village poses to him. It has been a while since he’s fed, and hunger gnaws at him. He needs to feed soon before desire overrides caution and he enters the village, but he comes upon Lacey and his brother Caleb tending to sheep.

For Lacey, the sight of Damon drinking from his brother’s throat should repulse him. Instead, he finds himself oddly aroused; Damon is all his fantasies come true, lovely yet dangerous. When Damon sees Lacey for the first time, he is immediately attracted to him. Taking Lacey as a lover, he blackmails him into acceptance by threatening to kill Caleb.

As Damon’s prisoner, Lacey’s love for his beautiful captor grows. He is confused and ashamed, then angry at Damon for threatening his brother. When Damon sets Caleb free, Lacey is surprised, but relieved, yet, he still wants to be free himself. Damon releases him, but Lacey quickly realizes he still wants his vampire. Lacey has come to love him, but will love be enough to set them both free?

off sidesOff Sides -love has no bounderies

Dear Author,

Austin and Riley have been together since high school. They’ve always loved each other and knew they’d spend the rest of their lives together. But when they started playing soccer in college they met a sexy blond named Luke who, as far as they know, is the stereotypical conservative rich kid with the perfect GPA (aka the stuck-up straight guy).

Please tell us their story and how this perfect couple became three.

About diannehartsock

Author of paranormal/suspense, fantasy/adventure, m/m romance and anything else that comes to mind. Oh, and a floral designer.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Simply Shakespeare Blog Hop!

  1. Rian Durant says:

    LOL, yes! I had the very same vision with the balcony and the night, thinking it must have been a new moon. 😀 Thanks for joining the hop. I can’t wait to read that story!

Leave a Reply

